Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Everything Werkstatt.

Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby neilasimpson » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:28 am

Hi!

I'm Neil. I'm very, very new to electronics and am trying out the fine tune mod (http://www.werkstattworkshop.com/?q=projects/fine-tune). However, I'm a bit stuck and confused. If you're able to offer any advice, I would really appreciate it.

In the video, the presenter is able to plug his jumper cables into holes in the Werkstatt circuit board (TP2 and TP12, I think). However, on my Werkstatt, these holes are filled in with small amounts of solder. Am I missing something? Will I need to solder the jumper cables to the board? Any advice on how best to proceed would be appreciated. Many thanks!
neilasimpson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:20 am

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby grenert » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:09 pm

Do you have a soldering iron? If you get some desolderting braid, you might be able to draw out the solder in the holes. Unfortunately, the opening may not completely clear and it could still not fit the jumper. If that doesn't work, then you could heat up the hole with the soldering iron while trying to push the jumper in there. As the remaining solder melts, you should be able to get the jumper in there. Of course, this may permanently solder your jumper in there. Hopefully that is OK with you.
Moog stuff: Slim Phatty, Minitaur, Werkstatt x2, MF-103, MF-104M, MF Chorus
Running Moog software on Win7 64-bit
Dreams of a Voyager XL some day...
grenert
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby neilasimpson » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:32 am

Hi Grenert

Thanks for your reply. Frustratingly, I'm trying to avoid soldering the circuit board. I'm very new to electronics and was hoping to be able to try a few mods out without having to solder. Partly because I want to make sure the mods work before doing anything too permanent, and partly because my soldering skills are extremely rudimentary and I don't want to damage the werkstatt. Overall, I think I'm just really confused about why the holed in my wekrstatt are filled in when those in the video are not. Surely they're all standardised?
neilasimpson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:20 am

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby grenert » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:32 pm

FWIW, mine were filled in, too. Not sure about standardization!
Do you have a continuity tester or multimeter that has one? You could see if there are open holes on the board that are electrically equivalent to the filled ones and use them instead.
Moog stuff: Slim Phatty, Minitaur, Werkstatt x2, MF-103, MF-104M, MF Chorus
Running Moog software on Win7 64-bit
Dreams of a Voyager XL some day...
grenert
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby paramnesia » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:00 pm

my Werkstatt board has TP2 & TP12 both filled in, it came that way new
Sub37 V1.1.20 / 6 x Mother32 / 3 x MF-104M, MF-102, MF-107, MF-108M, 4 X CP-251
Windows 7 - 64 Bit | Ableton Live 9.5 + MaxMSP
User avatar
paramnesia
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Location: Asheville, NC

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

Postby Struble » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:26 pm

Same here.
http://DepressedBoy.com

Equipment: Moog Werkstatt; Arturia Microbrute; Syntecno TeeBee; Elektron Sidstation; Korg Volca Keys, Electribe ER-1, Monotron; MidiNES; Teenage Engineering PO-12; Roland Boutique JP-08; BeatStep Pro; GameBoy
Struble
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:20 pm


Return to Werkstatt Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests