Having trouble setting up one volt per octave

Everything Werkstatt.
Struble

Having trouble setting up one volt per octave

Post by Struble » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:26 pm

Okay. I have a question. Forgive me, I'm a novice with this stuff so this might be obvious to anyone other than me. I appreciate any hand holding you can give me.

I've followed the instructions to set it to one volt per octave:

Step 1: Press the low C button on the Werkstatt. (took me forever to realize they meant ON THE WORKSTATT when they said play Low C in the manual)
Step 2: Set the VCO frequency knob to 12 o'clock.
Step 3: Play C0 on the keyboard outputting the CV. (In this case, my Microbrute)
Step 4: Play C3 on the output keyboard.
Step 5: Adjust VR5 pot until the pitch of C0 and C3 equal the same note 3 octaves apart.

However, when I do this, most of the other notes are close to centering on the note they're supposed to be. Some can be as close to being almost a half semitone off. Some notes it's Sharp, some notes it's flat.

Is this because I'm doing it wrong? Or is this just the nature of the Werkstatt's oscillator and something I'm just going to have to live with?

Like I said, I'm a novice, so I'm not sure what I'm up against. Any help you can provide would be much appreciated.
http://DepressedBoy.com

Equipment: Moog Werkstatt; Arturia Microbrute; Syntecno TeeBee; Elektron Sidstation; Korg Volca Keys, Electribe ER-1, Monotron; MidiNES; Teenage Engineering PO-12; Roland Boutique JP-08; BeatStep Pro; GameBoy

Control_Voltage

Re: Having trouble setting up one volt per octave

Post by Control_Voltage » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:42 pm

Hi there,

It may be easier to help you trouble shoot this issue over the phone, as the Micro and Minibrute are technically 1v/octave but they have a center position difference and are not necessarily always compatible with Moog CV's. It could also be a calibrations issue, and perhaps I can help you sort it out.

Please contact me at 1-828-251-0090 xt. 221