T3 MIDI "challenges" and Merge bug?

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
AStoker

T3 MIDI "challenges" and Merge bug?

Post by AStoker » Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:39 pm

I must admit that while using MIDI for years, I'm still a novice. I have used the T3 for years as a driver to a JV-1080 and now an XV-5080 without any problems, but as I have added more components and worked towards a more cohesive setup I've run into a key challenge. As a dedicated slave, I simply matched the performance patches to my T3 selection. With my expanded setup I am now using a Roland FC-300 to control the entire setup and I turned on the "merge" IN->OUT so that control messages would flow to my XV-5080. After some extensive manual reading and hair pulling, I started debugging the whole setup one bride at a time with my computer and MIDI-OX. What I found was a bit of a shock, the Merge function was converting everything to the same out channel.

I am not sure if it's fair to compare "Merge" with "Thru", but I can't imagine any reason to consider that acceptable. The channel is intended to designate the appropriate recipient of that message. The T3 changing the channel en-route is like trying to call your girlfriend and having the phone company instead ring your wife (... sorry, a little humor there). The ONLY way to still use the T3 to drive the XV is to now turn merge off just to be sure it doesn't send a rogue message to the XV.

Interestingly as I have been setting up my performance and using MIDI more aggressively I also found that turning the octave switch off on the T3 through MIDI worked fine, except that it doesn't change the light status (stays on) so it looks like I am still in the upper octave when I'm not. Hitting the switch on the T3 does however switch properly and take me to the next octave and keeps the light on.