Page 1 of 1

Taurus 3 MIDI CC: How do I set LFO to triangle or square?

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 6:48 pm
by seierstad
Hi
I cannot set the LFO waveform of my Taurus 3 to triangle or square via MIDI cc messages.
Setting the LFO waveform to ramp or saw works as expected.

My firmware is version is 2.0.4.

I send the message 0xB0 0x44 0x1F for square and 0xB0 0x44 0x3F for triangle, as described on page 51 in the manual, with no luck.

Is this a known problem?

Best regards,
Erik

Re: Taurus 3 MIDI CC: How do I set LFO to triangle or square

Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:05 pm
by psynthetic
It's not something I've noticed reported before, but I have had troubles with MIDI and the T3 in the past controlling the Filter Cutoff.
Turned out it was a bug and after mentioning it to Moog support in an email it was fixed in the following update.

I'll have a shot at changing the LFO shape via MIDI when I get a chance to fire up the studio sometime in the next 36 hours and report back. :)

Re: Taurus 3 MIDI CC: How do I set LFO to triangle or square

Posted: Thu May 26, 2016 10:30 pm
by psynthetic
I just tried changing the LFO Waveshape via MIDI and I had some troubles also..
Sending CC# 68 from Ableton I was able to get Triangle, Ramp and Saw but not Square.. So it may be a bug.

Not sure if this is normal behaviour but it also seemed to retrigger the LFO every time I adjusted a CC 68, even within the range for that shape.

I'm gonna double check I was doing everything right & maybe compare against my S37 to see if the re-triggering is normal behaviour, otherwise an email to Moog might be in order.

Any other T3 people care to weigh in on this?

Re: Taurus 3 MIDI CC: How do I set LFO to triangle or square

Posted: Sat May 28, 2016 2:45 am
by Mr Arkadin
I'll have a go at it this week. I have a MIDI map set up using a Novatoon X-Station so shouldn't take me long go seem if it's working. It definitely controlled the Taurus parameter but I may not have noticed it wasn't selecting Square.

Re: Taurus 3 MIDI CC: How do I set LFO to triangle or square

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 6:39 pm
by bichuelo
psynthetic wrote:I just tried changing the LFO Waveshape via MIDI and I had some troubles also..
Sending CC# 68 from Ableton I was able to get Triangle, Ramp and Saw but not Square.. So it may be a bug.

Not sure if this is normal behaviour but it also seemed to retrigger the LFO every time I adjusted a CC 68, even within the range for that shape.

I'm gonna double check I was doing everything right & maybe compare against my S37 to see if the re-triggering is normal behaviour, otherwise an email to Moog might be in order.

Any other T3 people care to weigh in on this?


I have the same retrigger behavior, also only the Ramp and Saw seem to work from CC#68. This happens even when the TIII sends the control from its own panel while it has Local OFF and it is controlling its own channel on Live

The strangest thing is that everything works fine if you do it from within the synth itself with local set to ON.

Can someone confirm this?