Minitaur is missing notes

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Post Reply
w00fa
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Minitaur is missing notes

Post by w00fa » Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:07 am

hi!
my Minitaur has been giving me trouble for some time now and through (at least) 3 firmware upgrades.

it only plays one of every 4 NOTE ON commands I send it.
I have it plugged in through USB, and it will only play 1/4 key downs of my controller.

has anyone experienced this? can I try anything? I would rather continue to use USB. unfortunately, I don't recall when exactly this started happening...

thanks!
-w

User avatar
Stuka
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:13 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by Stuka » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:47 am

We'll probably need a bit more information concerning your gear setup before anyone can really assist ~
How is the Minitaur connected to your computer or other device (hub, direct USB, etc.), what controller are you using, what software are you using, etc.?

Problems like you mention frequently have more to do with the way your control system is configured, versus having an actual problem with the Minitaur itself.
Little Phatty Solar CV, Minitaur, Slim Phatty (x2), MF-101, MF-102, MF-103, MF-104M, MF-105M, MF-108M, CP-251 (x2), Animoog app, Filtatron app, Model D app, Model 15 app...and some 5U modular and Doepfer stuff...

w00fa
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by w00fa » Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:25 am

hi! thanks for taking the effort to reply!

here's my setup:
- the Minitaur is connected, via USB, to a HUB (Apple Thunderbolt Display), which then goes into a Mid 2012 "15 MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display, via Thunderbolt
- I am controlling the Minitaur with a Novation SL49 MKII that's connected to that same HUB, via USB
- I am running Logic 10.2.0 as a host
- the MIDI routing inside Logic uses the current "External Instrument" (Destination is set to "Moog Minitaur", MIDI Channel is set to "All")

Notes:
- both Logic and OSX' MIDI Studio (aka Audio MIDI Setup) recognize both "Moog Minitaur" and "SL MkII" ("Port 1" and "Port 2")
- I am using the same controller to operate other hardware (albeit connected via DIN5 to a Fireface 400), and that's working fine
- things were working fine with the Minitaur, using the exact same setup and routing, until, well.. they've stopped working fine

thanks again!
-w

jsharpphoto
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by jsharpphoto » Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:02 am

Are you sure you didn't set it to polychain voice number 4?
Moog Format Modular
Model D (2016)
Moog Subsequent37
Oberheim OB-6
Sequential Rev2

w00fa
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by w00fa » Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:37 am

Iiiii... will check that in a bit? not sure, to be honest.

where Is that configured? the "Under the Hood" portion of the Minitaur Editor?

w00fa
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by w00fa » Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:43 am

I updated to the latest firmware, removed all previous editor apps and installed the latest one, and things seem to be working fine now :)

thanks for all you guys' help!

User avatar
Stuka
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:13 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: Minitaur is missing notes

Post by Stuka » Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:47 am

Glad you got everything working! :)
Little Phatty Solar CV, Minitaur, Slim Phatty (x2), MF-101, MF-102, MF-103, MF-104M, MF-105M, MF-108M, CP-251 (x2), Animoog app, Filtatron app, Model D app, Model 15 app...and some 5U modular and Doepfer stuff...

Post Reply