Page 1 of 11

Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 3:50 pm
by Stuka
Just received the e-mail from Moog music -
and it looks like an incredible update!!

One of the unexpected features - polychain capability!!
Looks like I'll be setting up a Little Slim Minitaurpeggiator in the near future!! 8)

The e-mail writeup:

The Minitaur Editor has been rebuilt from the ground up and is now available free to all registered Minitaur owners. In addition to the new standalone editor - VST, AU, RTAS, and AAX plugin compatibility have been added for improved DAW integration. Every feature on and under the hood of your Minitaur can now be easily accessed, automated, and recalled from within your favorite DAW.

Minitaur Editor 3.0 requires the installation of firmware version 2.1 onto your Minitaur in order to function properly. If you own Minitaur serial number 6247 or below, you must install this included update. Please back up your presets before installing the new firmware.

Firmware version 2.1 adds new features to Minitaur including:

• Save presets from the panel
• Polychain capability
• Support for custom tuning scales
• Change presets with program changes
• MIDI note transposition
• Load mod wheel position w/ preset
• Load volume knob position w/ preset

Nice!! :mrgreen:

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 4:42 pm
by christopherrowand
Thanks for the update Amos and Moog. Downloaded, updated and working great. Lots of cool new stuff. Ableton running the plug in .. fantastic.

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 6:04 pm
by ZenPunkHippy
Amazing work, thank you Moog + Amos, this is huge!

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 5:55 am
by Mihajlo
Editor (DAW version) does not work in FL studio. It recognises it but says that there's something wrong with the plugin, so it doesnt open it.

I CANNOT scroll trough prestes on hardware device, i have to press vco's ALOT of times to change a preset. That makes me useless live.

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 7:26 am
by Stuka
Mihajlo wrote:Editor (DAW version) does not work in FL studio. It recognises it but says that there's something wrong with the plugin, so it doesnt open it.

I CANNOT scroll trough prestes on hardware device, i have to press vco's ALOT of times to change a preset. That makes me useless live.


Did you apply the firmware update to your Minitaur?
Might make a difference...

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 10:49 am
by Hayduke
Editor (DAW version) does not work in FL studio. It recognises it but says that there's something wrong with the plugin, so it doesnt open it.


It doesn't work as an instrument in FL on my system, you have to load it into a mixer channel, and then also load the FL "MIDI Out" instrument plugin to send the midi-notes.

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 11:22 am
by Hayduke
Some issues in FL Studio, using a standard MIDI DIN cable:

- You have to load the editor as an efx-plugin in FL Studio, it doesn't work as an instrument (as mentioned in previous post). I think it is mentioned in general terms in the readme, that this may be the case. This method is not perfect, but it does work.

- First time I saved a preset, all sound disappeared.
It turns out that simply moving the knob VCA VEL SENS (under the Extended tab) cured the problem immediatly. If I save with Vel Sens at zero, the problem disappears, if I save the FL project or a Minitaur presets with Vel Sens at more than zero, I get no sound when I reload the project, or the preset.

- The Up/Down selector arrows don't work for selecting presets, but I can pick a preset by clicking on the name.

- Sometimes I get an unspecified Sysex error when pressing Save, to overwrite a preset.

- The Cutoff value seems flaky in regards to presets, sometimes it remembers the position, sometimes the value saved is lower than it should be and I have to re-set the knob on the VST.

Nice plugin otherwise, thanks! No crashes or lockups, it's definitely an improvement in stability and workflow from the last editor/firmware version I'd been using!

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 12:01 pm
by absentmusic1
Worked about 10 hours with the mini in ableton
and it seems to be great.
Everything is working fine, no drop outs, no hangng notes,
sync with logic an ableton is great can easily save presets.
Enjoyed it so much that i couldnt sleep and worked all nicght with the mini and new editor.
Very good job.
Can i hook up a usb keyboard in the standalone editor ?
Its not so important but i searchrd this option

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 12:34 pm
by A.A. Wallace
I have installed the firmware and the vst as well as the au but it shows up as an effect rather than an instrument. how do i send notes from the daw (ableton) to it if it is an effect?

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 1:14 pm
by wkocierz
Hello, I have already updated my MInitaur to v2.1.
Unfortunatelly I can not install Minitaur Editr 3 on my Macbook (OS 10.6.8)
Old Minitaur Editor 2 seems to work ok after upgrade.

Please advise how to install?

Regards
Wojciech

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 1:48 pm
by DohaK
Hello

i have tested the new version
firmware update and the new stand alone editor functions 100% so far in a few hours testing
the new feature and look are great and feels stable

however the Vst editor can not be found by my DAW for some reason
i'm using cubase 7.5.1 32 bit version running on win 7 64 system

i have put the dll into my vst folder as instructed but the plugin not showing in the vst list
tried to refresh the list from inside cubase without any success

any ideas what might be the issue?

:?:

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 4:13 pm
by fishman77
I'm excited to install this! My only question is how do I back up my presets? I can't find it anywhere. They are saved in the old editor on my Mac and in the Minitaur currently. Thanks!
Adam
http://www.thesolutionmusic.com

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 4:35 pm
by Mitja
Apleton 9 x64 WIN7 the VSTi x64 plugin is still doesn't work. The DAW sees the Minitaur as just MIDI device, and WITHOUT plugin on a track MIDI is received/sent, but with the plugin it still "disconnected" and no control or note information transferred. But at least the VSTi plugin sees the Minitaur in MIDI section. So, unusable as yet, keep trying.

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 4:56 pm
by gian77
Hi,

All seems to work fine until now, the MT is very stable :)

Noticed only one issue, when turning the (filter and amplifier) RELEASE knob on the MT (with RELEASE button ON) the button on the editor (standalone version as well as AU in Live) is not following ... hardware behavior is working fine anyway, even when turning the editor knob.
Decay is working fine.

Anyone else have noticed this problem ?

Firmware Version is 2.1.0.
MT is connected by USB.

Thanks,
Gianni

Re: Minitaur v3.0 editor and v2.1 firmware released!

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 5:46 pm
by matbard
And meanwhile we poor Taurus 3 owners are waiting for the editor 1.0...