Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Post Reply
jdogric12
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:59 pm

Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by jdogric12 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:25 pm

Hi gang. I'm playing the Rutherford parts in a Genesis tribute band. I'm currently using a Roland PK-5 and JV-1010 set to B39 to get my Taurus sound. But the sustain is either off or infinite (30 seconds, actually). I need that in-between kind of decay like Rutherford gets on Squonk and a dozen+ other songs. Will the Minitaur do that easily? Of course, I also need it to do the kind of "infinite" setting as well. Thanks, J

dshook
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:00 am

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by dshook » Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:38 am

Yes - no problem. I use long decay all the time and fine-adjust it to fit the tempo. Once you hear and play the MT for 5 minutes you'll never be able to go back to the roland.

jdogric12
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by jdogric12 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:00 am

Awesome, thanks!

User avatar
hieronymous
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:09 am
Location: northern CA
Contact:

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by hieronymous » Tue Apr 01, 2014 1:14 pm

jdog - good to see you may be joining us in Taurus-land after all! I would love to get a MInitaur - the T3 is wonderful but rough to haul around.

I've also been playing my Ric more! 8)

jdogric12
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by jdogric12 » Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:57 am

My brand new Minitaur arrived yesterday! I hook it up to the PK-5, and… no sound.

What am I doing wrong?

I triple checked that the PK-5 MIDI OUT is going to the Minitaur MIDI in, I get the MIDI light on the Minitaur to light up, I've waited 15 minutes for it to warm up (seriously, is that a thing?), I made sure the Minitaur audio out is going to my bass amp's audio in, volume is not at 0 on the bass amp, all Minitaur knobs are at 12 o'clock.

The release button is lit, and I can get the OSC buttons 1 & 2 to toggle lit & off. On the PK-5 I pressed "Midi channel," "1," "enter" just to be sure. Still nothing. What the heck?

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 852
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by bichuelo » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:49 am

Press all 4 buttons simultaneously. They will begin to blink. Then try again. If that fails, try to send CC#7 127.

You can try turning the VCA sustain level full while holding the Glide button too (that's a gate ON command)
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

jdogric12
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by jdogric12 » Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:14 pm

Thanks - but I tried that and it didn't do anything. i'm pretty sure the problem is the PK-5. Anyone using one? Would a PK-5A be better?

User avatar
hieronymous
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:09 am
Location: northern CA
Contact:

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by hieronymous » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:05 pm

The only thing I can think of is MIDI channel?

jdogric12
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by jdogric12 » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:11 pm

I had a similar (and similarly unsolvable) midi channel related problem when connecting my PK-5 to another's midi setup, so I think my PK-5 has a problem with midi channels. I'll contact Moog. I'll bet you're right, they will likely be helpful. I sometimes forget all musical instrument manufacturers aren't difficult like Rickenbacker! LOL

User avatar
hieronymous
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:09 am
Location: northern CA
Contact:

Re: Will the Minitaur do what I need?

Post by hieronymous » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:28 pm

jdogric12 wrote:I'll contact Moog. I'll bet you're right, they will likely be helpful. I sometimes forget all musical instrument manufacturers aren't difficult like Rickenbacker! LOL
Too funny!!! :lol: :twisted:

Post Reply