Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Mr Arkadin » Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:09 pm

I can't even remember the first firmware version. I know my main issues were with MIDI. I think they were mostly addressed in this update. Anyway if you're not using MIDI or Arps then I would definitely do the update as it adds some nice features, like storing patch wheel volume, the presets 1-4 can be overwritten, you can assign volume and filter cutoff and resonance to pedal velocity. You can make the LFO restart on note start. Not sure if it always did this, but you can play a note with a long decay, hit the next patch without it changing and the new patch only sounds when you hit the next note, rather than cutting off immediatly ou select the patch.

Some nice features even for the non-MIDI user.

If you have a copy of the older firmware about you could always reflash back to 1.0 if you don't get on with it.
Last edited by Mr Arkadin on Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5199
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Voltor07 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:32 pm

The original firmware has a bug which I discovered a number of years ago. It involves the arpeggiator, and has something to do with I don't know what. I caught the behavior on video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZGq-Nf2TQg
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, Lowrey Teenie Genie.

Baker69
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:32 pm

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Baker69 » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:26 am

Might give it a go then.

Do you install it via midi-ox or direct from the zip file?

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5199
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Voltor07 » Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:38 pm

MIDI-ox.
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, Lowrey Teenie Genie.

Baker69
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:32 pm

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Baker69 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:30 am

Do you need to back up your own Custom Presets before doing the upgrade?

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5199
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Voltor07 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:25 pm

I would, just to be on the safe side. :wink:
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, Lowrey Teenie Genie.

jbmsynthname
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:31 am
Location: metro Atlanta, GA

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by jbmsynthname » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:51 am

Updated to v2.0.3 last night. Glad this was out there, as it fixed an issue previously unreported, as far as I can tell, with v2.0.2. When I upgraded from v1.13 to v2.0.2, the T3 stopped responding to midi volume control (yamaha mox6 -> T3 via midi DIN). v2.0.3 fixes this problem. There is another problem that is still present in v2.0.3, and was also a problem in v2.0.2 and v.1.13, having to do with the midi merge feature. When set to merge the midi input onto the midi output, all input commands to channels other than the T3 (mine is set to RX/TX on channel 2) get output with the channel id of the T3 instead of the channel that was originally sent. Perhaps this was intentional, but it seems to defeat the purpose of having a midi "thru" feature. Not a killer problem, as I can always add a dedicated midi thru box.

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by bichuelo » Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:24 pm

jbmsynthname wrote:Updated to v2.0.3 last night. Glad this was out there, as it fixed an issue previously unreported, as far as I can tell, with v2.0.2. When I upgraded from v1.13 to v2.0.2, the T3 stopped responding to midi volume control (yamaha mox6 -> T3 via midi DIN). v2.0.3 fixes this problem. There is another problem that is still present in v2.0.3, and was also a problem in v2.0.2 and v.1.13, having to do with the midi merge feature. When set to merge the midi input onto the midi output, all input commands to channels other than the T3 (mine is set to RX/TX on channel 2) get output with the channel id of the T3 instead of the channel that was originally sent. Perhaps this was intentional, but it seems to defeat the purpose of having a midi "thru" feature. Not a killer problem, as I can always add a dedicated midi thru box.


Thanks for reporting this.
I do think it is not right, MIDI messages shouldn't change their channel. Hope it will be fixed in the next version.
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

jbmsynthname
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:31 am
Location: metro Atlanta, GA

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by jbmsynthname » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:38 pm

Alas, I spoke too soon. Wife was trying to sleep, so I had the volume down and did not realize the T3 was not going to full volume when commanded. The T3 is apparently setting the coarse volume to 0 and the fine volume to 127 when receiving the 7 bit MIDI volume CC at 127. The midi output is also hosed; watching the midi output from the T3 when changing the T3's volume wheel you see the coarse volume going from 0 to 127, while making very small changes at the wheel, then you see it go back to 0 and on up to 127, over and over until the volume wheel is actually at maximum. I have gone back to v1.13, where the T3 correctly responds to midi volume control. I do occasionally experience the stuck note phenomena with v1.13, but this happens rarely and I can at least work through my practice sessions successfully. Fortunately, I have never had a note latch up like this during a gig.

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Amos » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:04 am

The T3 is apparently setting the coarse volume to 0 and the fine volume to 127 when receiving the 7 bit MIDI volume CC at 127. The midi output is also hosed; watching the midi output from the T3 when changing the T3's volume wheel you see the coarse volume going from 0 to 127, while making very small changes at the wheel, then you see it go back to 0 and on up to 127, over and over until the volume wheel is actually at maximum.


thanks for the report; I will fix this as soon as possible.
There is an outstanding note latch bug on my list as well.

cheers,

Amos

psynthetic
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:26 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by psynthetic » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:19 am

I would love to see that note latch bug finally fixed..

Also, Amos, one thing I noticed the other day, transposing arp patterns on the T3 while they are playing, if you have the octave button on or not doesn't seem to make a difference when transposing, is it possible to change this?

Also, I'd really like to hear your thoughts on wether it would be possible to implement swing in the arp menu…

Thanks mate. :D

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Mr Arkadin » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:52 am

Oooh, we're getting an update. How about an editor? (a guy can dream, can't he?)
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

ChrisO
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:13 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by ChrisO » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:14 pm

Is there an ETA on the new Editor?
Mac OS 10.12.1
NI Maschine
Moog Minitaur

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by Mr Arkadin » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:08 pm

ChrisO wrote:Is there an ETA on the new Editor?


New editor? I'd be happy with the old editor. :mrgreen:
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

psynthetic
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:26 am

Re: Taurus 3 firmware update - v2.0.3

Post by psynthetic » Sun Apr 06, 2014 7:43 pm

An edit would be freaking amazing.. it's sort of a must have in 2014 anyway..

Amos, i'm pretty sure a case was referred to you regarding me having some MIDI issues with my T3 also? Any word on that and if it will be addressed in the next update would be great.. (an editor would be very relevant to these sorts issues while we're on the subject.. )

Will the MIDI output of the arp be "fixed" in this update also?

I was jamming with my T3 just the other day actually.. recently scored an original dust cover for it too, yay!

Post Reply