Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here please

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Mitja
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:34 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by Mitja » Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:38 pm

Hi, Amos!

Thank you for your intense work on Minitaur and active user support.
I have a question though about the new software for The Synth.

Will it be available as a 64 bit VSTi for Windows?

Thanx!

secmast
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:30 am

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by secmast » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:17 am

Mitja wrote: Will it be available as a 64 bit VSTi for Windows?
It is for Mac I believe it is the same for Windows.

mamosynth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by mamosynth » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:10 am

Hello Amos, I'm sorry for my english, I'm Italian.
I updated the firmware from 2.0 to 2.0.28.
The update should be unsuccessful as the editor read firmware 2.0.28, happily accepts MIDI commands, but unfortunately no longer accepts commands via cv.
Do you know what can be the problem?
Thank you very much and thank you for the work you've done for the aggiormnento.
greetings
Manfredo

tokintone
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by tokintone » Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:44 am

OK, 2.0.28 seems to be running OK, but one constant issue I have had, which is still not fixed, is when I fill the presets into the MT, they seem to all work OK when I select them in the editor, but from the unit, even if all the 100 slots are full of different presets, I seem to have 40 or so that will just play the same preset, anyone else having this issue ?

dshook
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:00 am

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by dshook » Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:11 pm

I posted above about this and thought I had it solved but apparently not - looks like the Knob mode option isn't working on this newest firmware - no matter what I set it to in the editor it behaves like "relative" - (easy to check by comparing the on screen knob position to the one on the unit) Is anyone else having this issue?

Considering these pots don't have indicators like on the phatty line, it seems that the snap setting would make the most sense, that way as soon as you grab a knob you know exactly where you are.

bozechicago
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:02 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by bozechicago » Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:38 pm

Hey,
Ive been outta the beta loop for a while and wanted to install .28.
Can someone post up an up to date list of panel features (like combos for coin different things)?

I recognize it may be a pain in the ass but i think it'd also be a great help!

Thanks again,
And Amos….that Sub 37 looks unreal. Great work dude.

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:28 pm

hey amos

hope you are well

found a couple of bugs in the cc's sent out on request in firmware .28. also affects the lfo clock divider in the beta2 editor.

LFO CLOCK DIVIDER CC#86 sends out the wrong values for

1/4 Note triplet, should be 74. sends out 73.
Dotted 1/8 Note, should be 68. sends out 67.
2 Whole Notes, should be 13. sends out 12.
3 Whole Notes, should be 7. sends out 6.

Cheers

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:32 pm

also the beta 2 editor says "4 Bars" where it should read "4 Whole Notes" in the LFO Clock Divider Section ;)

same with the other "bars" ;)

cheers

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:26 pm

also VCA volume is not sending out any midi data.

cheers

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:09 pm

also glide type EXP is insisting on being set to 86 for some reason.

if i try and set it to 85 it reverts to 43.

the manual says 85-127 so prob should be fixed to be 85 not 86- as when you send it 85, it sets itself to LCT.

cheers

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:58 pm

im having trouble with the modulation LFO midi sync under firmware 2.0.28

i turn on LFO MIDI SYNC and then when i slow down and speed up the tempo in ableton live, the minitaur modulation LFO rate does not follow.

i double checked i wasnt doing something stupid by testing it against the sub phatty, and it works fine on the sub phatty under the same test in ableton live.

also when i change the LFO CLOCK DIVIDER via midi command (corroborated by the standalone app showing it has changed) the speed of the modulation LFO doesnt change.

anyone else experience the same problem?

cheers

Stormy
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:50 am

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by Stormy » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:09 am

robml wrote:also VCA volume is not sending out any midi data.
I find the manual a little confusing on this point - it seems you can set the output volume/headphone level with CC#7, and I believe it's stored with the patch data, but the front-panel knob is not supposed to send CC data.

From the Minitaur manual:

VOLUME (VCA)
The Minitaur features a monophonic Audio Output and a Headphone Output; both outputs appear on the back panel. Both ouputs are adjusted simultaneously by the VOLUME control.

PANEL CONTROL FOR VOLUME
VOLUME:

Adjusts the output of the Voltage Controlled Amplifier (VCA) and Head- phone levels. Rotating the control fully clockwise produces the maximum output. Rotating the control fully counterclockwise silences the Minitaur. The VOLUME control does not transmit or receive MIDI. This is a post VCA control.

MIDI ACCESSIBLE CONTROL
OUTPUT LEVEL
(CC# 7):
Adjusts the Audio Output and Headphone volume levels.

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 838
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by bichuelo » Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:42 am

robml wrote:also VCA volume is not sending out any midi data.

cheers
It shouldn't, since the Volume pot on the Minitaur is not a MIDI control, just an output volume
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

robml
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by robml » Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:32 pm

bichuelo wrote:
robml wrote:also VCA volume is not sending out any midi data.

cheers
It shouldn't, since the Volume pot on the Minitaur is not a MIDI control, just an output volume
the manual says it is controllable via midi CC#7 Range 0-127

cheers

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 838
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Minitaur firmware update soon - your requests here pleas

Post by bichuelo » Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:36 pm

robml wrote:
bichuelo wrote:
robml wrote:also VCA volume is not sending out any midi data.

cheers
It shouldn't, since the Volume pot on the Minitaur is not a MIDI control, just an output volume
the manual says it is controllable via midi CC#7 Range 0-127

cheers
that is true, but the control on the unit does not send that value.

Maybe Amos can explain this better?
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

Post Reply