T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Post Reply
Neekau
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Paris, France

T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by Neekau » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:40 am

Hi

When playing with my beloved T3 (OS 2.0.2), sometimes the Arp freezes, like playing a note would stop the arpeggio.

It happens quite often with the G2 BullAcidTest preset (I did not investigate to know why, but it is more obvious with this preset).
I just play notes (quite quickly), and after like 30 seconds playing I can notice that arp stops. It would start again with the next note, but the beat is lost !

Do you guys experiment the same problem ?

Thanks

Nicolas
"There's something wrong about this world in which Clouds sells 5x more than Tides." O.Gillet

EMwhite
Posts: 1650
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by EMwhite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:02 pm

This is with internal clock (not midi?).

You should check to see the position of the right wheel. Not sure if from a relative perspective, the pulling up of a patch places the current logical setting of the wheel a the default value of the setting; e.g. if the default arp behavior of that patch is to LATCH and to be ON, that the logical value of the wheel is all the way up, meanwhile, the physical wheel is all the way down or at least beyond the midpoint.

My point is that perhaps some vibration, which Taurus is famous for : ) is causing small changes in the scanning of the wheel to be sensed and it things that you meant to turn the arpeggiator off.

One other thing that I've see is that I can intentionally STOP the arp from running when stepping on pedals really quickly (I see that as a feature). But I don't think that is what you are talking about.

Having said all of this, I'm not sure I have the latest code in mine and my poor T3s have been neglected since I got the Minitaur, but worth checking out my first point above.
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

Neekau
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by Neekau » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:04 pm

Thanks very much for your comprehensive answer !

EMwhite wrote:This is with internal clock (not midi?).

yes
EMwhite wrote:You should check to see the position of the right wheel. Not sure if from a relative perspective, the pulling up of a patch places the current logical setting of the wheel a the default value of the setting; e.g. if the default arp behavior of that patch is to LATCH and to be ON, that the logical value of the wheel is all the way up, meanwhile, the physical wheel is all the way down or at least beyond the midpoint.

My point is that perhaps some vibration, which Taurus is famous for : ) is causing small changes in the scanning of the wheel to be sensed and it things that you meant to turn the arpeggiator off.

Interesting point. I'll check this ! (my T3 are not @home)

EMwhite wrote:One other thing that I've see is that I can intentionally STOP the arp from running when stepping on pedals really quickly (I see that as a feature). But I don't think that is what you are talking about.

THAT seems to be something close to what I tried to describe. But honestly, I can't really see that as a feature. Why would that be a feature ? How to control it ?

EMwhite wrote:Having said all of this, I'm not sure I have the latest code in mine and my poor T3s have been neglected since I got the Minitaur, but worth checking out my first point above.

So you do have a preference for Minitaur ?

Thanks !
"There's something wrong about this world in which Clouds sells 5x more than Tides." O.Gillet

EMwhite
Posts: 1650
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by EMwhite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:59 pm

Just re-read what you originally wrote and it sounds quite like the 'feature' I described.

What's the point of it?

Well I suppose it's to stop the ARP which is running continuously (via Latch). Then again, I suppose to stop it, the best way would be to just move the wheel down. And to be honest, now that I think about it, the fact that I can stop the Arp with a very quick step is more than likely a bug than a feature.

But no, I don't favor Minitaur, it's a very different machine, especially now that it has full ADSR envelopes and square wave. It's also good for mid-range leads while Taurus III is obviously bound by it's 1 octave pedal range (unless you are quite quick with the octave switch). I'm a bass player primarily.

One thing I can tell you is that Minitaur IS Taurus. I created the set of T3 patches which 'ships' within the Minitaur editor and it started with a spreadsheet of all patches that leveraged triangle LFO, did not rely on the LFO for the primary sound, and then was carefully detuned and mapped with key follow parameters to sounds as close to T3 as possible. What I haven't done is gone back in and configured each patch to leverage the newest Minitaur firmware features which allows a default modulation amount to each patch, but that's on my list of things to do.

Let me know what you figure out.
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

User avatar
misterpete
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:16 am

Re: T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by misterpete » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:36 am

a LOCK feature on the arpeggiator would be great ~ to flip through different presets while the same pattern keeps running, like we can on the Phatti ~ not clear to me yet if patterns are saved with each preset or just the state of the arp being/on or off though... :?
Please Call Me, PETE
https://petedako.bandcamp.com/music
"Mr. Pete" at MuffWiggler |@petedako on Twitter

metron
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: Lakewood, CO

Re: T3 Arpeggiator stops !

Post by metron » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:56 am

I think a quick double tap on a note turns the arp off. Isnt it supposed to work that way?
MF102, MF104M, CP251, Minitaur

Post Reply