Minitaur Pitch CV Problems

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
ZacGotTheButt

Minitaur Pitch CV Problems

Post by ZacGotTheButt » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:18 pm

Hi everyone thanks in advance for looking at this. So whenever I attempt to use a cv to control the pitch of the minitaur all i get is a very annoying single mid to high pitched tone. When A waveform is sent to it from my cp-251 the tone will oscillate with the LFO of the cp-251 but still that same unchanging pitch. When attempting to use an ep-2 expression pedal all it does is very roughly change back and forth from the sound of the minitaur to the unchanging pitched tone. The problem became clear when I attempted to recreate the patches used in the moog video with the minitaur, cp-251, moogerfooger ring mod and ep- 2. I know I made these connection appropriately. but pitch change was impossible. Anyway I'm fairly new to cv so maybe i'm just being a noob but this seems like an issue with the pitch cv input on the minitaur. Thanks again for reading and please help. This is making me rip my hair out.

EMwhite

Re: Minitaur Pitch CV Problems

Post by EMwhite » Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:01 pm

One thing to remember about Pitch CV in general is that in the majority of modern implementations, the Pitch is only relative to the last note played.

So if you plug in a Midi keyboard and play the highest note that the OSCs can produce, then plug in an expression pedal (or any voltage into the Pitch CV), you'll get nothing but annoying high pitch tones which may only vary but the slightest margin (a fraction of a semitone). The EP-2, with it's somewhat imprecise string mechanism may not give absolutely precise heel toe voltage and of course the trim port changes the range.