Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Post Reply
francesco
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:42 am

Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by francesco » Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:37 pm

Hi!
I think it is good to start the discussion of the new Taurus III firmware with a new topic sounding more positive than "unavailable" :D
First a big thank you to the people at Moog and especially to Amos for the firmware support of Taurus III pedal at the end of its production time.

I did the installation of the fw 2.0.2 from 1.2x and here are my observations:

-All my presets are there but after the upgrade all velocity settings are gone (no big deal here)
-MIDI FILTER OUT setting is not working. The volume foot wheel is sending data to the MIDI DIN out regardless of the filter setting.
The Taurus is sending out note messages if MIDI FILTER OUT is set to NONE. Tested with a DSI Tetra on MIDI DIN OUT with midi channel 1 and 2.
Synths: Moog MiniTaur, Taurus III, Voyager RME & VX351& VX352 & CP251 & MP201 DAW: Cubase 8.5 on WIN10 AMD Phenom II X6

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Mr Arkadin » Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:50 pm

For those that might not know where it is, the update can be ound here:

http://moogmusic.com/downloads

For your first issue, I'm hoping that as velocity etc. are new additions that any presets built from this version on will be saved OK. I have not tested the MIDI filter and shall give this a go.
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

User avatar
Twoorless16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:37 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Twoorless16 » Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:41 am

I installed the v2.02 Firmware update last week and have been experiencing an issue with my Taurus, serial number 0114. Before I get rolling I will say that I am a bass player that is only now diving into the glorious world of Synthesizers. The issue that I never experienced before the new Firmware is:

- I have my Taurus linked with a microKorg XL. Previous to the new Firmware when I would play my microKorg my Taurus would not play a tone above Middle C (Midi note 60). Now the Taurus plays tones up to and including Middle C and above (Midi notes 61-120) the Taurus plays some note above Middle C, the same note no matter what key I hit above Middle C. It is quite obnoxious as it clashes with the correct notes being played on the microKorg.

Has anyone else experienced these problems or am I nuts?

In other news, my band plays a half step down, does anyone know what value a half step equals when setting the "Fine Tune Amount." I could do it myself but if someone already has the value handy that would be awesome.

Brian

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Mr Arkadin » Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm

I have to say I always thought it did play the same note above middle C. As I haven't had old firmware for a while I cannot check.

You can just transpose the whole Taurus down a semitone using the transpose function, MIDI or pedal (or both). For the pedal, press the Transpose footswitch, hit B (this becomes your lowest note in place of C), so now when you hit an E it should be Eb. For MIDI, from the Master menu scroll to MIDI Transpose and change the In value to -1.
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

User avatar
Twoorless16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:37 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Twoorless16 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:56 am

Thanks Mr. Arkadin,
I have been using the Transpose but I am trying to avoid it because I sometimes transpose based on the key that we are playing in.

I am positive that my Taurus did not play a tone above middle C as I wrote stuff around playing arpeggios above middle C with the Taurus and microKorg tone blended for Low drones below middle C.

I could always go back to 1.14. I think that was what I was running before going to 2.0.1, and then 2.0.2

User avatar
Twoorless16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:37 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Twoorless16 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:38 am

This video here demonstrates that in the past there was no tone above a C3, It should be C4 based on the MIDI Implementation Chart in the manual but the point is that there is no tone heard.

Example starts at the 3:17 minute mark.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXWfaOxJkdI

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 821
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by bichuelo » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:26 pm

I am using version 2.0.2 and it seems that the LFO misbehaves when it receives MIDI clock. If you select either square or triangle waveforms, the LFO doesn't work, and when you select either ramp or saw, it works as a square wave

Can anyone reproduce this behaviour? The LFO works fine when it doesn't receive MIDI...
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

User avatar
Twoorless16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:37 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Taurus III Firmware 2.0.2 - discussion

Post by Twoorless16 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:09 am

An update on my situation.
I have since "downgraded" to v1.14 and my Taurus is now playable again. I did loose all the new midi upgrades though, I miss the Midi Transpose the most.

Post Reply