Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by Amos » Mon Jul 02, 2012 1:59 pm

Hello all,

Here is the latest release candidate of the Minitaur Editor software for OSX and Windows.

I have tested it on OSX Lion and Windows 7 (32 and 64 bit). Everything that is implemented seems to work.

Note that this is not a plugin but a standalone application. It does not currently pass-thru or merge MIDI from multiple sources, so it does not work in conjunction with your sequencer/DAW software to provide automation or anything like that. It lets you create, save, and load presets, and gives access to all the non-panel parameters. And it's free. :)

Windows users: presets are organized within the data/presets folder; you can create new category folders here and they will show up within the Editor.

Mac users: to access the preset and category folders you must control+click on the Minitaur Editor icon and choose "Show Package Contents." Presets are located in the Resources/data/presets folder. You can create new category folders here and they will show up within the Editor.

here are the downloads:

http://seamslikereality.com/moog/Minita ... 12_OSX.zip (mac)
http://seamslikereality.com/moog/Minita ... 12_WIN.zip (windows)

To get started, simply unzip and launch the Minitaur Editor.
You will need to show the Under The Hood window (on the View menu, or CTRL+2) and select a Midi Input and Midi Output. Usually, this would be Moog Minitaur. If you connect the Minitaur's USB to your computer after you launch the MInitaur Editor, you may need to click the REFRESH button in order for the Minitaur to appear on the list of MIDI Inputs and Outputs.

If you have any questions or comments, please post them here. Thanks!

-Amos

jessemiller
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:55 pm

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by jessemiller » Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:35 pm

Is there a way to have some of the under the hood settings load on the minitaur as the default when it is not run via USB? I'd like things like the glide settings, note priority and bend amounts to be set to my liking without the USB if possible.

User avatar
filosofem
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:36 pm
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by filosofem » Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:28 am

Hey Amos, does this revision of Minitaur Editor support 'Under the Hood' controls to remain with Minitaur away from a computer?
Aaron Mulqueen: Moog Subsequent 37 - MF 104M

hogo
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:28 am

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by hogo » Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:51 am

works great! the HS presets are dope too ;)

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by Amos » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:55 am

jessemiller wrote:Is there a way to have some of the under the hood settings load on the minitaur as the default when it is not run via USB?
filosofem wrote:Hey Amos, does this revision of Minitaur Editor support 'Under the Hood' controls to remain with Minitaur away from a computer?
What you are asking for requires an update to the Minitaur internal firmware to support persistent preset memory. This is planned for the near future. So, not yet, but it's coming soon :)

User avatar
filosofem
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:36 pm
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by filosofem » Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:23 pm

Amos wrote:What you are asking for requires an update to the Minitaur internal firmware to support persistent preset memory.
Ahhh... I see, says the blind man, picked up a hammer and saw. 8)
Aaron Mulqueen: Moog Subsequent 37 - MF 104M

David Bulog
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:08 am

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by David Bulog » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:06 am

will this work with Taurus 3--eg the basic controls

secmast
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:30 am

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by secmast » Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:39 pm

Got it crash (Mac version) when I want to save the preset impossible to save them.
Anyone else having this issue ?

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by Amos » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:21 pm

secmast wrote:Got it crash (Mac version) when I want to save the preset impossible to save them.
Anyone else having this issue ?
I am testing Mac version on OSX 10.7.3 and I can save presets, no problem.
What OS version do you use?
Where on your computer (what folder/directory) did you install the editor?
I wonder if it's somehow possible that the app does not have permission to save to disk, in some configuration...
anyone else, can you report if saving presets is or is not working for you? Any other crash or problem reports?

Thanks!

User avatar
acatcalledanarchy
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by acatcalledanarchy » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:28 pm

Top work Amos!

:mrgreen:

Peace, love and flowers,
Last edited by acatcalledanarchy on Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
A Cat Called Anarchy

Voyager Select Series Whitewash Electric Blue, Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by Amos » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:41 pm

you using Mac or Windows? Any trouble saving presets (or any trouble for that matter)?
Last edited by Amos on Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
acatcalledanarchy
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by acatcalledanarchy » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:45 pm

Sorry forgot to mention Mac OS X 10.7.3 and all good here.
Last edited by acatcalledanarchy on Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
A Cat Called Anarchy

Voyager Select Series Whitewash Electric Blue, Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by Amos » Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:07 pm

acatcalledanarchy wrote:Sorry forgot to mention Mac OS X 10.7.3 and all good here.
Excellent, glad to hear all's good with the Editor.
Last edited by Amos on Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
acatcalledanarchy
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by acatcalledanarchy » Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:41 pm

Amos wrote:
acatcalledanarchy wrote:Sorry forgot to mention Mac OS X 10.7.3 and all good here.
Excellent, glad to hear all's good with the Editor.
Cheers...
Last edited by acatcalledanarchy on Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:44 am, edited 2 times in total.
A Cat Called Anarchy

Voyager Select Series Whitewash Electric Blue, Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur

User avatar
muksys
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:05 am
Contact:

Re: Latest, Greatest Minitaur Editor - Get It Here

Post by muksys » Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:10 pm

Amos,

There seams to be an issue with the Capture where it sometimes selects the Square Wave when in fact it is set to Saw, or it selects the Glide when it is in fact off. This also happened on the Beta version. It seems this only happens when the the Minitaur is first powered up and then opening the editor and selecting capture. If I leave the Minitaur on and plugged in and close the editor, make changes to the Minitaur then start the editor back up, it captures correctly.

I am running Minitaur FW 1.01 and WIN7 64bit.

Post Reply