Minitaur + External Audio Source

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
pspells

Minitaur + External Audio Source

Post by pspells » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:57 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone had any success with running an external audio source through the Minitaur.

I'm new to analogue synthesizers and the manual says that in order to do this you need to "apply +5V
to the GATE jack" and I have no idea what this means.

Does it mean that i need to get a Gate pedal and connect the keyboard to the Minitaur through it?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

o.

SteveD

Re: Minitaur + External Audio Source

Post by SteveD » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:03 am

Hello -

Take a look at the signal diagram of the Minitaur on p. 8 of the user's guide
http://www.moogmusic.com/sites/default ... NUAL_0.pdf

The Audio Input is summed with the VCOs in the Mixer, then routed to the Filter then to the VCA then output.

The VCA level is controlled by the Volume Envelope Generator. So you need a MIDI Note or Gate signal to trigger the Envelope Generator. You also need to make sure the cutoff isn't set to minimum or no signal will pass.

If you're new to CVs then just use your MIDI controller to send and hold a note. You can also set up a pattern of notes in a sequencer that can gate the external audio input.

Hope this helps!
SD

pspells

Re: Minitaur + External Audio Source -- solved

Post by pspells » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:32 am

I just wanted to post the solution that Moog tech support proposed for the external audio source sans MIDI signal predicament I encountered.

If you want to run external audio source through the Minitaur, and can't send a note-on MIDI message, you can make a battery operated CV device that keeps the gate open and allows you to run any audio signal through it:

From Moog tech support: