Taurus vs Minitaur?

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
User avatar
till
Posts: 1209
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:17 pm
Location: south-west Germany
Contact:

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by till » Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:18 pm

David Bulog wrote:Anyone have a pic of the inside so we can see if the Taurus 3 is surface mount or through hole. ...
Image

the analog section (most of it)


Image

parts of the digital controlling section


So it uses SMD and a few through hole components.
keep on turning these Moog knobs

Sequence:
Prodigy * minimoog '79 * Voyager * MF102 * MF103 * MF104z * MP201 * Taurus 3 * Minitaur * Sub Phatty * MF105 * Minimoog 2017+ MUSE * One 16

EMwhite
Posts: 1650
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by EMwhite » Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Thanks for posting that, Till. I cannot afford another hernia trying to get mine out of where it is let alone take it apart (me back). Check out the writing on the right side of the circuit board in the upper pic. "PURE BULL LEVEL".
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

David Bulog
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:08 am

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by David Bulog » Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:13 pm

Thanks for pics of boards -they look easy enough to service 20-30 years from now--nice to learn that not all surface mount some through hole
Also nice to learn that the BEAT parameter only used in Taurus 1 and 3 is a very significant difference to the Minitaur
Im wondering if that gives the Taurus 1 and 3 that special X factor that just can't be replicated

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by Voltor07 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:15 pm

David Bulog wrote:Thanks for pics of boards -they look easy enough to service 20-30 years from now--nice to learn that not all surface mount some through hole
There's enough SMT in there to be a headache. Luckily, when SMT components go bad, they are relatively easy to troubleshoot. I'm learning how to solder SMT, but it's not easy. Hopefully I'll have it down by the time my Taurus and LP start showing their age. :lol:
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, Lowrey Teenie Genie.

User avatar
muksys
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:05 am
Contact:

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by muksys » Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:52 pm

Looks like they kept nice film capacitors through-hole where it matters I'd suppose. I would think that it would actually be easier to service SMT 20-30 years down the road. I've had to do some servicing to my Rogue. While the through-holes are easier to handle, you run a real good risk of damaging a trace when "prying" parts out that are that old. I had a couple traces die from this. With a good magnifying glass and the proper soldering tools and enough practice, SMT is't all that bad.

David Bulog
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:08 am

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by David Bulog » Sat May 19, 2012 2:15 pm

Taurus arrived recently I would have to say you need both
Taurus 3 has way more bottom end and volume than Miniatur and I think the saw sounds better side by side.Filter on T3 seems more aggressive too
Minitaur on the other hand has a lovely square wave (very TB-303 like) just like the magazines in the UK are saying--I think you will get closer to the TB-303 with the Minitaur
even compared to an XOXOX box

there are some good deals on Taurus III at the moment
http://www.novamusik.com/search.aspx?ty ... =34&lbs=60
$1299 NAMM special
Get it now -its a classic and is probably going to be discontinued after 1500 are sold

synthaxe
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by synthaxe » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:31 pm

Just to add to this older thread. The Minitaur uses Linear VCO, just like Taurus 1 did! And of course the Minitaur has an under the hood feature for "VCO 2 Beat," so instead of using the detune you can access this feature for a more Taurus 1/3-correct operation.
Last edited by synthaxe on Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur, MF-105, MF-103, MF-102, MF-101, Mesa/Boogie Mark IV, EVH 5150III 50 Watt, EVM12L Speakers, ESP Eclipse-II FR, USA Charvel So-Cal, Squier Vintage Modified Surf Stratocaster, Alesis MidiVerb 4, and tons of Electro Harmonix.

nectarios
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by nectarios » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:16 pm

David Bulog wrote:Taurus arrived recently I would have to say you need both

Minitaur on the other hand has a lovely square wave (very TB-303 like) just like the magazines in the UK are saying--I think you will get closer to the TB-303 with the Minitaur
even compared to an XOXOX box
I have a Minitaur and a x0xb0x. The x0b0x sounds a lot more like a TB-303 than the Minitaur.
Eurorack, 5U, x0xb0x, Moog Slim Phatty, MF-102, MF-103, MF-108, CP-251, Beatstep Pro, Nord Lead 1, NI Maschine, MXR-104, ProCo RAT2, Big Muff π Bass, Logic Pro 9.
http://soundcloud.com/martianarts

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by Mr Arkadin » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:12 pm

synthaxe wrote:The Minitaur uses Linear VCO, just like Taurus 1 did! Taurus 3 uses Exponential.
What makes you say that? The Taurus 3 models the Taurus 1 so uses the same Oscillator system.
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

User avatar
MC
Posts: 2893
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: Secluded Tranquil Country

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by MC » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:13 pm

synthaxe wrote:Taurus 3 uses Exponential.
Sorry, T3 is linear like the original. The external CV input is expo, converted to linear internally.
Gear list: '04 Saturn Ion, John Deere X300 tractor, ganged set of seven reel mowers for 3 acres of lawn, herd of sheep for backup lawn mowers, two tiger cats for mouse population control Oh you meant MUSIC gear Oops I hit the 255 character limi

synthaxe
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by synthaxe » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:19 pm

MC wrote:
synthaxe wrote:Taurus 3 uses Exponential.
Sorry, T3 is linear like the original. The external CV input is expo, converted to linear internally.
Oh, gotcha. I stand corrected, sorry about that.
Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur, MF-105, MF-103, MF-102, MF-101, Mesa/Boogie Mark IV, EVH 5150III 50 Watt, EVM12L Speakers, ESP Eclipse-II FR, USA Charvel So-Cal, Squier Vintage Modified Surf Stratocaster, Alesis MidiVerb 4, and tons of Electro Harmonix.

synthaxe
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by synthaxe » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:28 pm

Mr Arkadin wrote:
synthaxe wrote:The Minitaur uses Linear VCO, just like Taurus 1 did! Taurus 3 uses Exponential.
What makes you say that? The Taurus 3 models the Taurus 1 so uses the same Oscillator system.
You're right, it is Linear.
Little Phatty Stage II, Minitaur, MF-105, MF-103, MF-102, MF-101, Mesa/Boogie Mark IV, EVH 5150III 50 Watt, EVM12L Speakers, ESP Eclipse-II FR, USA Charvel So-Cal, Squier Vintage Modified Surf Stratocaster, Alesis MidiVerb 4, and tons of Electro Harmonix.

guitargod70
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:48 pm

Re: Taurus vs Minitaur?

Post by guitargod70 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:50 am

I am quite happy with the Minitaur. Once the new firmware was installed and I could save patches to the Minitaur directly I was in business. I have heard both and I think they are quite close. Minitaur CAN do some things that the Taurus III can't.

Also, I there are rack ears available which I now have so my guitar rig and my Minitaur are in the rack system. I use custom external midi bass pedals which allow me to change programs and the Minitaur responds beautifully. Plus, I can run other synths with the same pedals and toggle between midi channels.

You should probably get both. If I had $1200 to throw around, I would. For less than the price the Taurus III was when they came out, you can have both.

Post Reply