Using Taurus as a controller

Welcome to the Taurus, Minitaur and Sirin Forum
factorplayer
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:11 pm

Using Taurus as a controller

Post by factorplayer » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:33 am

I'd like to use my Taurus III to send some note on information to some other synth modules, but I'm getting nothing. Used to work fine with my Roland PKs... Do I have to assign the MIDI channel on the Taurus or something?

EMwhite
Posts: 1651
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by EMwhite » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:17 am

There are Midi IN and OUT (Channel) settings that you will need to set.

Just press the master button and rotate the encoder until you see the setting.

There is also a setting under the "Midi setup" menu which dictates whether or not Midi out will be sent over DIN or USB.

See pg 29 of the manual here: http://www.moogmusic.com/sites/default/ ... al_web.pdf

(depending on the version of firmware that you are running, menus may differ slightly)
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

factorplayer
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by factorplayer » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:20 pm

Thank you!

factorplayer
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by factorplayer » Tue May 15, 2012 7:37 pm

hmm, any way to increase the octave range the Taurus can send to the other synth? Sounds like it tops out about C4 or so.

User avatar
timmy
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:18 pm
Location: austin, texas

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by timmy » Tue May 15, 2012 10:30 pm

might need to transpose on the receiving end
Go analog: Moog Music, Dave Smith Instruments, Tom Oberheim
Go plastic: Roland, Yamaha, Korg

factorplayer
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by factorplayer » Sat May 19, 2012 9:21 pm

Great call Timmy! Thanks.

User avatar
misterpete
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:16 am

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by misterpete » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:37 pm

I was really hoping to double up a bass line via midi out to minitaur ~am i correct thinking that you can't send midi note out from the T3 arpeggiator — or am I just not figuring out how to do it properly?

EMwhite wrote:There are Midi IN and OUT (Channel) settings that you will need to set.

Just press the master button and rotate the encoder until you see the setting.

There is also a setting under the "Midi setup" menu which dictates whether or not Midi out will be sent over DIN or USB.

See pg 29 of the manual here: http://www.moogmusic.com/sites/default/ ... al_web.pdf

(depending on the version of firmware that you are running, menus may differ slightly)
Please Call Me, PETE
https://petedako.bandcamp.com/music
"Mr. Pete" at MuffWiggler |@petedako on Twitter

EricK
Posts: 5972
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:09 pm

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by EricK » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:04 pm

This is where those Taurus CV's would come in handy. Has anyone asked Moog about this or has anyone who has looked at the PCB seen how easy it would be to mod?
Support the Bob Moog Foundation:
https://npo.networkforgood.org/Donate/Donate.aspx?npoSubscriptionId=4043

I think I hear the mothership coming.

User avatar
misterpete
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:16 am

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by misterpete » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:43 pm

Do you mean with Pitch CV for the arpeggiator? I think having the arp "SEND MIDI NOTES" would be more accurate and easier etc. ~ but I can think of all kinds of potential for CV ins and outs now that I have been playing Taurus...

EricK wrote:This is where those Taurus CV's would come in handy. Has anyone asked Moog about this or has anyone who has looked at the PCB seen how easy it would be to mod?


Unlike a potential CV breakout box for a Slim Phatty, the physical problem of where do you plug a CV breakout box might be easier on the Taurus ~ given the extra real estate.

What about the MIDI-TO-CV converter power in the Minitaur ~ and especially CV Mapping ~ if that REV2 code works with the Minitaur firmware perhaps Moog could also make it work the same for the Taurus in an FW update? :?:

As far as further firmware updates, I especially would like to see the advanced Phatty features ~ SEND MIDI NOTES (from the arpeggiator) for the Taurus and FILTER MIDI CCs for the Voyager get implemented. The Voyager actually makes a great controller for the Taurus, you can use the knobs to adjust parameters while still using your feet to play, trigger and transpose patterns - playing through and using both in tandem gives you the best of both worlds and a very powerful 'full body' controller

The knobs on the Minitaur should actually be able to work in the same but I was forgetting there is only a DIN out and USB so I'm not sure if/how to get that MIDI in/out connection to work where you could control taurus parameters with minitaur knobs.
Last edited by misterpete on Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please Call Me, PETE
https://petedako.bandcamp.com/music
"Mr. Pete" at MuffWiggler |@petedako on Twitter

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by Mr Arkadin » Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:49 am

misterpete wrote:The knobs on the Minitaur should actually be able to work in the same but I was forgetting there is only a DIN In and USB so I'm not sure if/how to get that MIDI in/out connection to work where you could control taurus parameters with minitaur knobs.


You would have to use a computer inbetween the two. Pity no-one makes a USB-MIDI box that doesn't require a computer (or maybe someone knows of such a thing?).
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

marty
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:34 pm

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by marty » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:52 pm

misterpete wrote:I was really hoping to double up a bass line via midi out to minitaur ~am i correct thinking that you can't send midi note out from the T3 arpeggiator — or am I just not figuring out how to do it properly?


I was using DIN out to arpeggiate my TX7 this afternoon. However I noticed some anomalies, which may have to do with the ancient implementation I'm controlling.

1. Changing octaves with the arp running hangs whatever note it happens to be on at the time. This is kinda cool sometimes.

2. Rolling the volume wheel causes a hiccup in the arp rate (and doesn't affect volume).

3. Somehow polyphony over MIDI got knocked out once after messing with the arp, but I couldn't replicate this.

Marty

vasago
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:48 am

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by vasago » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:47 pm

EricK wrote:This is where those Taurus CV's would come in handy. Has anyone asked Moog about this or has anyone who has looked at the PCB seen how easy it would be to mod?


before the minitaur was announced I asked moog to mod my t3(the one i had before) with CV outs and a filter in. They never got back to me actually :/
Voyager Performer FR Revox2 Taurus3 mf;102,103,104zx2,105m,CP251x1 SEM Xpander 808 606 pro1x2 FR XS, FRorbx3 Modfactor timefactor space mopho PolyE Nord g1 Vermona drm mk3 KP3x2

User avatar
Stuka
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:13 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by Stuka » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:55 pm

Mr Arkadin wrote:[...
You would have to use a computer inbetween the two. Pity no-one makes a USB-MIDI box that doesn't require a computer (or maybe someone knows of such a thing?).


This:

http://www.iconnectivity.com/iConnectMIDI
Little Phatty Solar CV, Minitaur, Slim Phatty (x2), MF-101, MF-102, MF-103, MF-104M, MF-105M, MF-108M, CP-251 (x2), Animoog app, Filtatron app, Model D app, Model 15 app...and some 5U modular and Doepfer stuff...

Mr Arkadin
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by Mr Arkadin » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:07 pm

Stuka wrote:
Mr Arkadin wrote:You would have to use a computer inbetween the two. Pity no-one makes a USB-MIDI box that doesn't require a computer (or maybe someone knows of such a thing?).


This:

http://www.iconnectivity.com/iConnectMIDI


Haven't seen that before. Looks sturdy too. Thanks for the link.
http://soundcloud.com/luke-antony

User avatar
Stuka
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:13 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: Using Taurus as a controller

Post by Stuka » Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:03 pm

Mr Arkadin wrote:
Stuka wrote:
Mr Arkadin wrote:You would have to use a computer inbetween the two. Pity no-one makes a USB-MIDI box that doesn't require a computer (or maybe someone knows of such a thing?).


This:

http://www.iconnectivity.com/iConnectMIDI


Haven't seen that before. Looks sturdy too. Thanks for the link.


I have one -
They are VERY nicely made, quite versatile, and very compact!
For most folks, the default configuration out of the box is all this is needed to connect a lot of different gear.
Any specialized MIDI routing and/or filtering requirements can be managed by the free iOS app.

A bit more expensive than your typical basic MIDI-only interface, but a LOT more versatile!!
Little Phatty Solar CV, Minitaur, Slim Phatty (x2), MF-101, MF-102, MF-103, MF-104M, MF-105M, MF-108M, CP-251 (x2), Animoog app, Filtatron app, Model D app, Model 15 app...and some 5U modular and Doepfer stuff...

Post Reply