Looking for some tips, DIY controller.

This is the place to share tips, tricks and questions about Moog's controller products; the MP-201 Multi-Pedal and the EP-2. There are a world of applications for these expression enhancers. Explore...
J-Jul

Looking for some tips, DIY controller.

Post by J-Jul » Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:40 pm

Hello there,
I want to control the LFO rate more precisely, working with the EP-2 is too much of a guess.
As a newbie, I am not familiar with all the possibilities. I've looked into the MP-201, but it's hard to find one these days and I don't have the money for it (yet).

Here is my idea:
I want to build a controller (stompbox) that doubles/triples/etc the rate of the LFO of my MF-102. A stompbox with multiple switches.
What do you think is possible, and how?

I think there must be a voltage/rate formula or something.

Hope you can help me out!

Jack
MF101 - MF102 - LPII'white.

stiiiiiiive

Re: Looking for some tips, DIY controller.

Post by stiiiiiiive » Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:45 am

This must be possible.
There are some limitations though: you won't be able to go beyond the rate limits you have now on your fooger, meaning that beyond a certain value, the multiplicated value will be hitting the ceil.

Vsyevolod

Post by Vsyevolod » Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:33 pm

This can be done easily with Modular Synths...

Stephen

willi

Post by willi » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:05 pm

It is easier to divide down that double up. Send a square wave to 555 circuits or other timer based circuits and it will half the values. You can get chips that take a single input and output multiple progressive divisions but a 555 circuit is an way to start dividing down a clock signal. Certain simple octave-up circuits for guitars could also probably be used to double frequencies but perhaps with less precision.

555s are cheap and versatile and there are lots of example circuits available freely online. Good luck!
Sub Phatty, MF-101, MF-103, MF-104z, & MF-105