Realistic Concertmate MG-1 Help/Repair

This is the place to share tips, tricks and questions about Moog's controller products; the MP-201 Multi-Pedal and the EP-2. There are a world of applications for these expression enhancers. Explore...
MoogInTheTitle

Realistic Concertmate MG-1 Help/Repair

Post by MoogInTheTitle » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:50 pm

Hello All; another complete novice on board here.

Picked up a Concertmate MG-1 from an auction recently, because the price seemed too good to pass up. It was advertised as in working order, and while most of it seems to work, the main issue (other than needing some Deoxit in the volume controls) is I have about 7 dead keys of which most are in succession. Now, I haven't even opened this up (to most likely discover that protective foam that's turned into goo at this point, according to many other experiences listed online), but my main question was if this dead key situation is a somewhat common problem? Secondly, as I'm completely and absolutely new to the world of synth here, I think I'd like to get someone else to examine and restore this thing. I live in Durham, NC. So my second question would be does anyone know of a local place/person I might be able to take this thing to and get it repaired? I mean, hell, I go to Moogfest every year, so taking this up to Asheville might even be an option, based on the assumption that someone at/around the factory would know what they're doing for fixing their old analog equipment.

And it seems that these things have pretty decent desirability. Am I wrong on that? Please share your experiences if you want.

Thanks!

Voltor07

Re: Realistic Concertmate MG-1 Help/Repair

Post by Voltor07 » Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:54 am