Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

This is the place to share tips, tricks and questions about Moog's controller products; the MP-201 Multi-Pedal and the EP-2. There are a world of applications for these expression enhancers. Explore...

Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Amos » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:28 am

I have a new version of the MP201 firmware, which I have tested to update reliably (starting from firmware v2.0 and also from v1.01).

Here is the file: http://seamslikereality.com/moog/mp201/ ... Update.zip

I posted an earlier update in another thread last Friday, but I've made some improvements since then... I think what I have now will be the official next version, I just need some more folks to test it before I release it to the general public.

Would you like to help? Please download and try the update and let me know how it works for you. Thanks!

Changes in the new version include:

NEW FEATURES:

- triplet clock divisions

- separate bank change MSB, LSB messages, each/both of which can be OFF per channel.

- tap-tempo multiplier (x1, x2, x3, x4)

- can assign same MIDI CC number to multiple MP201 channels

BUG FIXES:

- LFO channels now load CV Lag settings correctly on preset load

- LFO Off Mode "Initial" now always returns to correct initial value when turning off the LFO.
Last edited by Amos on Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
Amos
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby patobrujo » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:01 pm

Amos, i just downloaded the file, let me give it a try during the weekend... thanks for the update!!


now the T3 please :D !!!!
..::PATOBRUJO::..
patobrujo
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Santiasko, Chile

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ebo » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:49 pm

It does not work
display shows test 1 fail
greets ebo
ebo
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ark » Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:09 pm

Failed for me too. (Windows XP)

I tried installing it, the MP201 hung with an error message saying something about FW LOAD ERROR 2 2
(I don't remember the exact message, but do remember the 2 2 part)

I was able to restore 2.0, but when I tried to install the new software again, the installer hung so badly that I had to restart my machine. After I did that, several of my other USB devices had vanished. This is not good.
ark
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ark » Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:20 pm

PS: Being a glutton for punishment, I tried the update again after restarting my machine a second time. So I know that the message is

SEND FW SYSEX
CODE ERROR 2 2

The same message appears again after I power-cycle the MP201. I can still restore the 2.00 firmware OK.
ark
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Amos » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:38 am

Ah, OK. That's what I was waiting to find out. :( I have more work to do.
Once a unit has been updated, it's hard to put back to its pre-updated state, which is necessary to find bugs of this kind.
This tells me I need to work more carefully on my test MP-201, to iron out these update problems.
Thanks for testing so far! I will keep at it...
Amos
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ark » Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:24 pm

Should I be treating my MP-201 as a paperweight meanwhile? Or can I count on being able to use the restored 2.00 version?
ark
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Pantherairsoft » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:06 pm

Think I'll wait on the final version!

This - LFO Off Mode "Initial" now always returns to correct initial value when turning off the LFO. - Makes me a happy man!!
Shep on Bass - My website & blog
Bitnormal Records - Netlabel specialising in electronica
KADE - Improvised live electronica
Patient Zero - International hip-hop & electronica collaboration
Pantherairsoft
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Amos » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:35 am

ark wrote:Should I be treating my MP-201 as a paperweight meanwhile? Or can I count on being able to use the restored 2.00 version?


So far, no problems restoring to v2.00. So, it shouldn't be a paperweight :)

My problem here is in trying to restore my test unit to "exactly the state of a non-updated v2.00 unit" so that I can see the same error that folks are reporting here when attempting the 2.1 update. My problem is that the update works fine for me :) so it's difficult to trouble-shoot...
Amos
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Pantherairsoft » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:46 am

Amos wrote:
ark wrote:Should I be treating my MP-201 as a paperweight meanwhile? Or can I count on being able to use the restored 2.00 version?


So far, no problems restoring to v2.00. So, it shouldn't be a paperweight :)

My problem here is in trying to restore my test unit to "exactly the state of a non-updated v2.00 unit" so that I can see the same error that folks are reporting here when attempting the 2.1 update. My problem is that the update works fine for me :) so it's difficult to trouble-shoot...


Grab an off the shelf unit from the Moog store? I'm sure they'll understand it's for the good of musical engineering!! :)
Shep on Bass - My website & blog
Bitnormal Records - Netlabel specialising in electronica
KADE - Improvised live electronica
Patient Zero - International hip-hop & electronica collaboration
Pantherairsoft
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Amos » Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:55 pm

OK I got it all figured out. First I was able to revert my unit to production condition, for proper testing...
then determined that the v347 code was too large in size, and that's why the update did not work.

I removed the code that converts v1.0 presets up to v2 format - this was taking up nearly 1k... now the update works.

I'll test carefully and post a working update this week.

It's a shame to lose the v1.0 conversion ability, but you can always use the v2.0 MP201 firmware as a bridge... it will accept v1.0 preset sysex in and will convert it to v2.0 format... you can export the v2.0-format sysEx and import that into v2.1. I'm hoping few to no people would need to do such a thing, anyway...

-Amos
Amos
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby mico » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:37 pm

Looking forward to the official release, Amos!
Moog Sub 37 (#0133), Ibanez M80M, & Doomy Bow
MF-102 • MF-103 • MF-105m • KE Kommander • MHI B:a (Germ. w/EQ mod) • Strymon Timeline
Previous: Model D, Taurus, Taurus III, Little Phatty SE II (Solar Edition w/CV Out mod), Sub Phatty
User avatar
mico
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:29 am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby Amos » Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:18 pm

OK, try this one!

http://seamslikereality.com/moog/mp201/ ... Update.zip

It's not official yet until you folks test it and give me your feedback... but I think it will work this time. :)

Things to remember:

1) back up your presets first; there's a new preset format so the presets in the unit will be scrambled by the update. You'll be able to load your presets back in to the new firmware after the update, and they'll be automatically converted to the new format.

2) you must use the USB connection on the MP-201 to send the firmware update. You can use USB or DIN MIDI to send the Factory presets.

3) The procedure is: back up your presets, send the firmware update, send the factory presets after the unit reboots, do a Factory Restore, do a Footpedal Calibration, reload your own presets. Done.

4) Read the README before starting the update! ;)

Cheers, have a great weekend...

-Amos
Amos
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ebo » Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:10 am

Thanks Amos ! after Factory Restore it works greets ebo
ebo
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Re: Hey, can anyone test this new MP201 firmware?

Postby ark » Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:31 pm

Seems to work here this time too, with one exception: In order to get the MP201 to start updating, I had to turn the value knob. After that, all went smoothly.
ark
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:31 pm

Next

Return to Controllers Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests