Memorymoog reset

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
DiscoE

Memorymoog reset

Post by DiscoE » Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:06 pm

Hello,
I have a Memorymoog+ and it is currently frozen on boot up and reads 88 on the readout. No controls or buttons work except the octave change. I have read that a CPU reset can be done or shorting the p49 pin. I have tried these to no luck. I am not a tech but I have some knowledge of opening and tinkering. I watched a video where the tech reset the CPU on a Prophet 5 which has the same Z80 cpu by connecting the test (p49 pin) to the 5v rail. I havent tried this yet but could be an option. Maybe if someone has any info or a better description of either of these processes I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you
Ian

alainhubert

Re: Memorymoog reset

Post by alainhubert » Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:39 pm

If the synth freezes up upon power-up, I doubt very much that simply forcing a CPU reset would resolve the issue.

It's more likely that the CPU might have gone bad (it happens often with old Z80), or that some of the RAM chips, or logic gates might be failing.
I would try to find a reputable tech that could have a look at it. Synthchaser.com, or Synthpro Restorations come to mind, both of which have numerous videos on YT that show their great repair work. Because if it's the power rails that are unstable, or the RAM chips that are failing, or anything else, a professional tech is better equipped and has the necessary knowledge to fix everything.

Best of luck to you, and stay safe!

DiscoE

Post by DiscoE » Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:57 pm

Thank you for your reply,
I actually have another memory moog for parts and I could swap the z80 from there.
Is there a place to get replacement z80s specifically for synths (memorymoog).
If I can do it my self that would be a lot better. As its hard right now to be getting synths to be serviced at this time. If you have any other advice I would love to hear it.
Thank you
-Ian