Triggering Moog Rogue with Roland RT30K Trigger

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
Post Reply
Slawincjusz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:35 pm

Triggering Moog Rogue with Roland RT30K Trigger

Post by Slawincjusz » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:21 pm

Hello!

I'm new on this forum, i searched for my problem but without solution...

I have Moog Rogue and im trying to trigger it from drum trigger Roland RT30K mounted to my kick drum. Unfortunately it dosen't work but when i put signal from drum trigger to mixer where i put some gain and i go from mixer to Moog Trigger socket it works! So is it possible to do it without mixer? In attachments You have specifications and rear panel photo of Moog. Maybe i need special cable for that? Now im using stereo cable from Roland drum trigger.

Thanks a lot!
Best
Sławek
Attachments
moog_spec.jpg
moog_rear.jpg

Slawincjusz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:35 pm

Re: Triggering Moog Rogue with Roland RT30K Trigger

Post by Slawincjusz » Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:14 am

Up! Anybody?

User avatar
noddyspuncture
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:57 pm

Re: Triggering Moog Rogue with Roland RT30K Trigger

Post by noddyspuncture » Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:01 am

What you have there with the RT30K is simply some sort of Piezo trigger.
What you need is a trigger convertor - I've built them many times in one form or another.
I used variations on the audio to trigger circuit that appears in the Modular Moog service manual for the 961 interface.
You'll need to experiment a bit with it though, that cct is for an actual audio signal which will be a lot stronger than what you're getting out of your Roland.

Cheers,
Tom

Slawincjusz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:35 pm

Re: Triggering Moog Rogue with Roland RT30K Trigger

Post by Slawincjusz » Sun Jan 20, 2019 3:38 pm

Thanks Tom!

Can I buy somwhere that convertor? Im totally noob in world of electronics...

Best!
Sław

Post Reply