Page 1 of 1

Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:49 am
by Didge
Hi there - suddenly my Moog Voyager RME (Boot 3.5 & Software 3.6) - has stopped "remembering " the Midi Enables for "ALL ENABLES" FUNCTION - ie The Voyager midi light is flashing but no sound is triggering UNLESS I go to :

1.MASTER - MIDI ENABLES - ALL ENABLES - SWT from OFF to ON ! Then the Voyager triggers via midi ok !

Then if I turn the Voyager off wait a few seconds then turn the Voyager back on - and check the Midi Enable/All Enables swt its gone back to OFF ! and I have to change it back to ON. Anybody know whats happening here ?? This is driving me nuts !! HELP !!!

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:37 am
by ummagumma
just a shot in the dark: do the batteries ever need to be replaced on these? so it can store user settings in RAM ( I assume? ) between power cycles

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:23 am
by Didge
Yes - I thought that the ram battery might be a problem (going down) but the sounds are still all there ?
OK - so today (Saturday 10.AM GMT) I have re-initialized the flash rom and reloaded all banks A-H - still it is the same - can't seem to get round this problem - is there a total reinitialize of the Voyager RME out there ? Failing any other suggestions (from Moog maybe?) the only other option is to change the RAM backup battery ? I bought my Voyager RME brand new in 2007 in the UK.

PS. The serial number is RM 0377 (before the "faulty batches") were made later on ?

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 8:20 am
by Acid Mitch
Didge wrote:Yes - I thought that the ram battery might be a problem (going down) but the sounds are still all there ?
OK - so today (Saturday 10.AM GMT) I have re-initialized the flash rom and reloaded all banks A-H - still it is the same - can't seem to get round this problem - is there a total reinitialize of the Voyager RME out there ? Failing any other suggestions (from Moog maybe?) the only other option is to change the RAM backup battery ? I bought my Voyager RME brand new in 2007 in the UK.

PS. The serial number is RM 0377 (before the "faulty batches") were made later on ?


Yours was made a few years before the batches with faulty chips and the faulty chips do not have the same symptoms that you describe.

I also bought mine in the UK in 2007. I have number 0808.

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 10:03 am
by RL
Hi,

Didge wrote:Boot 3.5 & Software 3.6


That's the problem: the boot version must be the same as the system version (3.6)

Here you get the latest software version: http://www.moogmusic.de/RME_3.6_Beta.zip

Have fun,
Rudi

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:10 am
by Didge
Cheers Rudi - I'll download the update and try this out - many thanks !!!! :D

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:27 am
by RL
Here you will find infos about the download order in the middle of the side:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=22525

Re: Voyager RME Midi Enables Problem ?

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:53 am
by Didge
[size=150][size=150]Hi there Rudi - all sorted out now - the sysex order is quite important - it took a few goes to get it right - Boot is now 3.6 and OS is 3.6 - the Midi Enables problem has now gone !!! Thank you so much !