What Moog to get?

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
Gheddi

What Moog to get?

Post by Gheddi » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:41 pm

Hey, I'm new to synthesizers but I already made some research the past weeks and did everything I could in my area to get some information. I even searched up some music-teachers in the yellow pages and asked them for advice. The only one I found was an old friend of mine and he told me to either find someone who owns a Moog, because your decision will be way easier if you had your hands on one already, or to just save up some money and get me one. So I already had my hands on a Moog Voyager XL and as you can guess, it just felt epic. But 6000€ (yes, euro, because I'm german) is way out of my range.

So my question here is, what Moog should I get? I like all of them, but for now i'm pretty hooked with the Moog Voyager Performance Edition. Other options would be the Sub 37 or the Sub Phatty.

Can anybody please help me? The music I would make would go into an ambient direction (for example many pieces by Sun Arraw, some instrumental pieces by Nine Inch Nails, or moogmusic demos like "Solar Rise") and instrumentals. (((But I'm also a producer, I currently work with Ableton Live 9.5, an Ableton Push 2, an Alesis Midi Keyboard and an Elektron Analog Rytm.)))

If I get one of these Moogs, I would order it with an Moogerfooger Delay, or an Eventide H9, something with really heavy reverb and/or delay!

Thanks for reading, have a nice day and I'm waiting for helpfull responses :D

jsharpphoto

Re: What Moog to get?

Post by jsharpphoto » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:00 pm