Taurus II Foot Controller Question

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
kurtido

Taurus II Foot Controller Question

Post by kurtido » Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:01 pm

Hello! I hope someone out there can help me out with this. I recently obtained a Taurus II that was advertised in working condition (and I have no reason to suspect false reporting). It looks to be in great condition. Downloaded a pdf of the original manual and followed the instructions (not difficult). Now, admittedly, I'm new to synthesis and am learning tons of new things quickly, and I could just be overlooking something...but...

The foot controller doesn't seem to be working correctly, in that it does not change notes when you move to a different pedal. The thing SOUNDS beautiful, but only plays one note. You can hold down a pedal and change/adjust sounds all day, which is wonderful for droning and texture experimentation, but playing one pedal produces the same sound as any other pedal. In other words, all of the pedals 'work', but they all play the same thing without pitch variation. What do I need to do to get the pedal board to play chromatically (not just mono-chromatically! ha!)? Might the cord be faulty? Might something have been knocked loose in the pedal board during shipping? Is there some adjustment I can make myself, or should I take it in to the shop?

Any ideas and/or help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much for reading this far.
Cheers,
Kurt

megavoice

Re: Taurus II Foot Controller Question

Post by megavoice » Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:35 am

Hello Kurt,

Now the very first question is if your unit had been stored for a while without using. Try to contact the previous owner.
The very first thing you have to check are the contacts of the pedals. It's very likely they have been oxidating so you have to clean them thoroughly.