Power supply UK->Europe

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
steingrim

Power supply UK->Europe

Post by steingrim » Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:23 am

I just bought a Micromoog in London, and brought it home to Denmark.
I haven't dared to plug it in yet, because I'm afraid of what might happen - I'm not an electrician, and I would hate to see my new darling fry.

The plug is a standard 3-pin fused UK plug, but on the back of the moog, the power supply reads "115 VAC"...It worked fine in the store, and I dind't ask/wasn't told about the power supply.

My two questions are:

- Can I plug it into the danish 220V net, with a normal travel-adapter just like that?
- Can I change the plug to a danish 2-pin just like that?

Thanks!

stiiiiiiive

Re: Power supply UK->Europe

Post by stiiiiiiive » Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:18 am

hey Steingrim, welcome to the forum :)

There are two issues in matter of power supply when some gear is brought from a country to another.

1- The holes in the wall.
For that matter, travel adatpers do the job since you can plug you new toy in the wall of your bedroom. But the most serious problem is...

2- the voltage.
With -say- a Little Phatty, there is no problem since the PSU is "universal", meaning it detects the voltage that is fed into it and adapt. But with other pieces of gear, and particularily old ones, the voltage expected is fix. In those cases, you have to convert the wall voltage formerly.

Good news: you had the right reflex, that is to look what the label says on the synth. It says 115V, your wall gives 220 --> you need taht converter.

steingrim

Post by steingrim » Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:17 am

Thanks for the welcome and the answer:)
After having asked around, I got the same impression - I need a converter.
But I just found the shop's phone number, and they say the Moog has been modified for 220V. They just plugged it in (and it worked fine when I tried it there).