Pink Floyd Cover (Keyboards)

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
dmonte

Pink Floyd Cover (Keyboards)

Post by dmonte » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:46 pm

Hey Folks,
I recently started playing Keyboards for a Pink Floyd Cover band. I'm a classically trained pianist and fairly new to all this electronic wizardry but a big Floyd fan. I want to bring this group an authentic sound. On a very limited budget, how would you recommend I get started, which toys would be essential to cover the most ground, and which toys would be best to save for in the future.

Portamental

Re: Pink Floyd Cover (Keyboards)

Post by Portamental » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:38 pm

Welcome to the group...

Well I would say..... :

E2 G2 A2 G2 D3 C3 D3 E3, set at 166 bmp, Turns slowly the cut-off knob, add some noise in the mix, resonance too... repeat, but not necessarily in the same order, actually, turn any knob you want except for Volume, which you must keep all the way up :mrgreen:

Oh, equipment you say?

Hard to say, depends on your budget... You will get a number of suggestions no doubt.... In the affordable price range, I think a lil Phatty (keyboard), with the CV out option and a CP-251... that's a good start. For less money, you probably have a MIDI keyboard already. With a slim Phatty, under 1K, you can crack a lot of eggs and heads 8)

filtered

Post by filtered » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:16 am

welcome!

other than the needed Moog, do you have a Rhodes, Wurly, Hammond, Mellotron, or a digital equivalent?

I'd say, get a Nord Electro 3 and a Voyager or LPhatty

ricknboogie

Post by ricknboogie » Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:52 pm