Minitaur to controller. USB type B to USB type?

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
elcalifa

Minitaur to controller. USB type B to USB type?

Post by elcalifa » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:50 am

Can this happen? The minitaur usb is type be and my m-audio controller's usb is also type b. Not easily finding USB type to USB type b cables so I am thinking its a no. :(
Will I have to be a controller with standard midi to control a minitaur without including a comp in between.
Sorry if this is a n00b question. I am not new to analog but I am new to midi.

Voltor07

Re: Minitaur to controller. USB type B to USB type?

Post by Voltor07 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:46 pm

Sadly, type B to type B cables are not only hard to find, but insanely expensive if you DO find one. Never seen one myself, but my buddy claims to have seen one on E-bay for $200. :shock: :shock: Yes, you will either have to use your controller through the computer to the Minitaur, or try to find an old MIDI controller with DIN connectors. If you decide to go that route, might I suggest Yamaha, Realistic/Casio/RadioShack brands?
Minitaur, CP-251, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Pyramid stereo power amp, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ, dot com modular.

thealien666

Post by thealien666 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:25 pm

I'm really surprised to learn that a MIDI keyboard controller doesn't have a standard MIDI DIN connector and only USB ??? What model is it from m-audio ?