MF-109M - yet another VCA/EnvGen mockup

Plug in here for info tips and strategies for your Moogerfooger Analog Effects. Connect more than one for plenty of fun!
radioland

MF-109M - yet another VCA/EnvGen mockup

Post by radioland » Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:05 am

Hey fellow Moogers

Last night when I was awake with my 10 days old son (trying to to give my wonderful wife the opportunity to sleep a bit longer) I kept myself awake thinking about the long "lost" VCA/EnvGen-Moogerfooger :D . I hastily scribbled down my ideas and today I drew two little mockup faceplate plans.

I know that there have been many and better looking designs in the past years, and I have no real knowledge in electronics. But I love my herd of Moogerfoogers and like many of you I would love to have that sort of companion to them, so here are my thoughts...

Many concepts based on the cp-251 format, but I think the "MF-109M" should look like the other Foogers. Why? Moogerfoogers are aimed at guitarists, so this VCA/EnvGen-Fooger should address them as well as the synth nerds. Moogerfoogers already cover many common effects, and we have a pedal for guitarists that is a special VCF (the MuRF), a Pedal for guitarists that is a special VCO (the Freqbox), but the special VCA is missing. Some of the Minifoogers have big brothers (like Ringmod and Delay), but there is no big brother to the MF boost (VCA) or the MF trem (yes, I know about the 102). Thats where my idea comes in:

I`ll now explain my two mockups and their ins and outs.

EG: Take the MuRF sliders and give it the additional Delay and Hold stages that the Sub 37 has.

Gate sensitivity: Incoming signals trigger a gate, which triggers the EG. The gate sensitivity knob determines how loud a signal must be to trigger the gate. Fully clockwise, the gate/VCA is ON.

Gate length: This knob determines the length of the internally generated gate. When the Env./Gate Loop switch is ON, this knob determines the speed of the cycling.