New to Moog and to synth

Everything Phatty.
chris.gotfunk

New to Moog and to synth

Post by chris.gotfunk » Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:53 am

Hey all,

I am new to this world of keyboard synth. I am a bass player of 19 years now who delved into some stompbox effects to try and get these tones, but I shortly realized... it can't be done without a real one. So, I am picking up my LPII on Friday. I am pretty stoked. I have a coverband that does a lot of current music like Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake, Usher, etc... and I really need to cop some of those tones. Not to mention expand my horizon as a musician.

What kind of stand is best used for these live? They don't seem very wide to fit on a regular stand. I plan to keep my bass strapped on as well while I play, so sitting down is not an option.

Thanks all.
Peace,
Chris

Squid Tempest

Post by Squid Tempest » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:34 am

I recently splashed out on a stand made by this company in Germany:

http://www.jaspers-alu.de/eng/index.html

and I highly recommend them. Sturdy and steady as a rock, and light too. I don't know where you're based, but if you're in Europe these are definitely worth considering. Not cheap though, I guess.

I particularly like the modular design - you can add music stands, laptop stands etc etc.

chris.gotfunk

Post by chris.gotfunk » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:55 am

Thanks for the info. I am here in the United States. I may try a traditional keyboard stand or a two tier and just use the top tier.
www.thecongressband.com

tript

Post by tript » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:34 pm

Cheap and effective to just buy a piece of wood and lay it across your current stand. That's what I do.

If you have the bread, a solid T (Apex) stand is fine. My tried and true brands are:

QuikLok: http://www.quiklok.com
Ultimate: http://www.ultimatesupport.com/

chris.gotfunk

Post by chris.gotfunk » Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:18 pm