Got my LPII in today!

Everything Phatty.
The Fooch

Got my LPII in today!

Post by The Fooch » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:26 pm

Greetings all! I just got it today and fooled around for a little bit so I'm still working kinks out.

Thought I'd ask some advice about what to do about this fun and varied instrument. I'm still new to so much about the Moog (I'm only 24) so any suggestions and/or guides would be good.

But there is a real good question about this awesome instrument. I'm a metal drummer (well, more like hard rock/gothic metal) and I'm trying to start a band myself. I want this as a lead...any help with settings to get me a decent mainstream sound that's NOT techno or poppy?

Voltor07

Post by Voltor07 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:33 pm

The best thing I can suggest to get you started is to push buttons and turn knobs until you have a sound that you like. Start with the Calibration setting...you can then save your sound to any one of the numbered presets. Experimentation is the key here. Also, Knob Tweak is a great resource for patches and tips. :wink:
Minitaur, CP-251, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Pyramid stereo power amp, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ, dot com modular.

peterkadar

Post by peterkadar » Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:00 am

Yeah man, what Voltor said!

In addition to that, realize that synthesis is a fun and rewarding journey. You'll learn a lot about sound along the way.

Just dig in, read the manual if you're new to synthesis - it's very good - and let your muse be your guide.

Have fun, keep us posted on your progress!

Cheers,

PK

anoteoftruth

Post by anoteoftruth » Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:51 pm