sequncing LP with laptop

Everything Phatty.
octoplus

sequncing LP with laptop

Post by octoplus » Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:40 pm

I know there are similar post to this one but I need specifics bc im a total synth noob. I read some threads about software you can buy to sequence the LP. I was just wondering how you would set up the LP to do this. Also, could you use the sequencer in Reason 4.0 to do this?

My LP will be here on monday and i want to get the most out of it.
Thanks!

nickster

Hi there

Post by nickster » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:16 pm

Regarding Reason and LP, sadly at present you cant use LP with Reason directly however with Record you can track the LP into one of it's audio tracks and thus record your LP into a reason based track. However if you want to take full advantage of the LP you will need a DAW that can handle midi in and out such as Cubase. Or Reaper if you aint got the readies. When the new LP VST comes out made by Rekon Audio you will have an even easier integration with your DAW and the LP. Amos has stated it should be out soon so you wont have long to wait. I full expect Record to integrate midi in and out in the next update although I am not confirming this but am stating my own opinion. When questioned directly about this Ernst the CEO of Propellerheads (they make Record and Reason) did not state they would not be doing this in the future but was as ever unwillling to directly confirm that they would. Quite right as it would not be clever for him to predict what they will exactly do until they are done, so being their excellent track record for puttting out software that is as flawless as it can be.
In the meantime I am very happpy to track my LP in to Record and use all of it's effects to mangle up the sound even more ;) the Dual delay effect especially grabs my noodles! If I need to midi sequence it then Cubase 5 is my choice.
Nick

octoplus

Post by octoplus » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:27 pm