Open Eye Signal Jon Hopkins Bass

Everything Phatty.
HALX

Open Eye Signal Jon Hopkins Bass

Post by HALX » Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:18 pm

Hi
I am very new to synthesis and just start to make my way around basic patch. It's really great doing that with the sub37 with all the fonction layered on the panel.
I discovered Job Hopkins with his last album immunity and I have been obsessed with the bass on the track Open Eye Signal: https://youtu.be/Q04ILDXe3QE.
I was wondering if there was any synth guru who could take me in through detailed guide to how reproduce it.
Not that I want to copy it but from a learning point of view.
I can't figure how he did it at all while it may be very simple (or not). I love how the texture and the rhythm keep changing, sometimes smoothly, over more abruptly. I know after reading multiple interview, that Jon worked a lot with a MS20 on this album and that this bass was produced with it. I don't know if that makes it more difficult to reproduce with the Sub37.
In a way, I link it to Stephan Bodzin work on Singularity (this one done, still according to interviews, with a SUB37), even if they are 2 very different track and sounds. But what I am after is this sound shaping features that bring so much and that i am unable to reproduce, always ending up on the most basic (even if great) sound.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Yosemite 64 / Ableton Live 9.6 / Moog Sub37 / Komplte Audio 6

axool

Re: Open Eye Signal Jon Hopkins Bass

Post by axool » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:55 am

Hello,
I wrote a very long message that got lost...anyway I'll start again :
A few important things to notice :
The bassline is in 6/4, but the drums track in 4/4, producing a nice shifting effect
It's based on a single pitch being slowly detuned to hit the minor third and the minor second, resulting in a phrygian melody.
It's heavily distorded.
there's some LFO filter modulation going on and the resonance is pretty high at the end
almost any analog synth will do the trick.