Slaving a Beat Thang to a Sub 37

Everything Sub.
JavaLaurence

Slaving a Beat Thang to a Sub 37

Post by JavaLaurence » Sat May 23, 2015 9:54 am

Hi,

I have: 1 Sub 37 and one Beat Thang (drum computer).

I'd like the Beat Thang to use the master MIDI Clock the Sub 37 sends out.. but other than that, I don't want the Beat Thang to need to hear the Arp/Seq start/stop message. I want to manually control the start/stop on the Beat Thang, and just have it keep tempo with the Sub 37.

Currently, I manage to get Beat Thang to start playing when the SEND ST/STP option in menu CLOCK OPTIONS is set to YES. But when I set this option to NO, I can't get the Beat Thang to honour the MIDI Clock. It just doesn't play at all.

Anyone can help me out with this ? I'm new to syncing devices together.

BTW, The Beat Thang MIDI settings are:
* Sync/Slave Mode: MIDI Clock
* Send MIDI Clock: No

Thx.

Laurence

MoogProg

Re: Slaving a Beat Thang to a Sub 37

Post by MoogProg » Sat May 23, 2015 10:26 am

Well, if the BT doesn't have an option to ignore MIDI Start/Stop then a work-around might be to create an empty pattern that 'plays nothing' during those sections when you want to stop the BT.

fwilleke

Post by fwilleke » Sat May 23, 2015 1:47 pm

Why don't you try it the other way round, and use the Beat Thang as clock master?

In my experience, drums computers are more suitable to be used as master. For example, the Sub 37 will probably change tempo when you load another preset (so do many other synths). Most drum machines don't do that.
___
Sub 37 Cookbook
My Website
Gear List
Me on Instagram

15" late 2013 MacBook Pro
Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.3

JavaLaurence

Post by JavaLaurence » Sat May 23, 2015 2:44 pm