Slim Phatty pitch CV not for keyboard

Everything Phatty.
ttimotthhtty

Slim Phatty pitch CV not for keyboard

Post by ttimotthhtty » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:54 pm

Slight gripe.. but more importantly a word to those wanting to utilize Pitch CV in on the Phatty with a keyboard: The Pitch CV in is intended for an expression pedal -- not a keyboard. This means it doesn't respond accurately to 1V/Octave or 1.2V or anything linear. There is a mod we can pay for (currently $90).

This might be important to anyone who's stumped using CV keys (like I was). I'm new to the CV world and not sure how common this is, but I didn't notice mention of it in the manual.

Otherwise happy with the Slim.

karnekull

Re: Slim Phatty pitch CV not for keyboard

Post by karnekull » Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:42 am

Hi there,
Well that's news to me! I guess i'm kind of disappointed, but good to know, though.
Do you know of any official info on this? I can't find anything on the 'net.
And do you know where you can get the cv-pitch mod done?

All I read everywhere is that the slim tracks (artound) 1V/oct, but as i can tell, it's not that simple, I posted this subject previously;
http://forum.moogmusic.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=21606.
I'm trying to hook up the slim with a Pitch to CV module, but can't get it to work properly, and now i know why.
Thanks anyway ;)!

ttimotthhtty

Post by ttimotthhtty » Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:49 am

Official word comes from an email exchange with Moog tech support; they'll perform the mod. Apparently it involves cutting traces and precision soldering. You could perform the mod yourself, however it'll void the warranty and still cost $25 for the instructions/parts.

I looked over your post and had different readings from my Slim, which averaged around 1.1 V/Oct. This might be alright if it were linear.

EMwhite

Post by EMwhite » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:11 am

A few things...