From Logic to Sub Phatty?

Everything Phatty.
alpcohen

From Logic to Sub Phatty?

Post by alpcohen » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:42 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forum and relatively new to music synthesis. I'm primarily a bass guitarist, but bought a Moog Sub Phatty this past summer for a new band I'm in. I've had a great time experimenting with it and coming up with my own sounds, but I have a quick questions for you guys about manufacturing a sound for a new track.

In my band, we often write collaboratively, but start with a demo recording made by one of us (usually our lead guitarist). We're working on a new song that has an excellent synth bass line and we're now trying to transfer that to a live band setting. The line was recorded in logic via MIDI using a Native Instruments VST (I believe). Trying to emulate the sound just using my ear and average knowledge of the Sub Phatty's functions so far has been unsuccessful, so that's where I'm hoping some of you may be able to help me.

What have you found is the best way to bring a sound made in logic or any other program to your SP? If I can get my hands on the logic file, would it be best to look at all of the parameters/settings and try to reproduce them on my phatty? Is it possible to load a MIDI sound as a preset into my synth?

I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge about this matter. Thanks for the help!

-Alex

tagirov

Re: From Logic to Sub Phatty?

Post by tagirov » Wed Dec 25, 2013 2:31 am

I think the only real working way is to re-creatre a preset on the Sub Phatty from scratch.
You may duplicate a midi track and re-route it to the External Instument, then A/B the Logic's virtual synth track and the Sub Phatty track while tweaking the synth parameters until it sounds closer to the 'demo' track.
Best regards, Ruslan Tagirov.

Toyz: MBPro+Live 9.x+LogicProX, Moog: LP StageII/Sub37/Grandmother/MF-104m/MG-105m, Nord: Stage2 SW73/ModularG2Engine, Roland: MC909/TR-8, Korg: MS-20, R-3, OTO: Bisquit/BIM, etc.