Greetings, and a question about the Little Phatty ATA case..

Everything Phatty.
avj

Greetings, and a question about the Little Phatty ATA case..

Post by avj » Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:53 pm

Hello all! I've been lurking around for quite a while, but I decided I should register and actually interact with the community after recently becoming a Little Phatty owner. I'm primarily a guitarist with a year or so of experience as a synthesist, and as an all-around audio and gear nerd I've long been fascinated with Moog's unique brand of analog subtractive synthesis. I finally pulled the trigger three weeks ago after an exhaustive bit of research; I had my heart set on the LP SE II, but for roughly $500 less I found an old-stock LP SE that was only lightly used as a floor model. I upgraded to OS 2.21 right away, and it's been an absolute dream.

Getting to the point, yesterday I received the Little Phatty ATA case I ordered from Sweetwater -- great service as always. Inside were two pads with Velcro on one side and I can't seem to figure out where they fit. I didn't see them in any of the photos of the case online, so I did a quick search here on the forum for an answer and didn't find anything definitive.

The case shipped with the pads on the bottom half, so I tried setting the Phatty on top of them and closing the lid, but that didn't seem to work well. I also tried to attach them to the strips with the mating Velcro pieces on the top portion of the case, which places them on the keybed when closing the lid. This feels like it would require the lid to be closed with considerable force, and the force to overcome the compression of the pads seems far too great -- almost like it would be enough to break the keybed before they fully yielded.

The case seems to hold the Phatty securely on all sides without the pads in place anywhere, but I just feel like I'm missing something incredibly simple here.