Using the Voyager as a Ring Modulator

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
jeffdoto

Using the Voyager as a Ring Modulator

Post by jeffdoto » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:12 pm

Hello Everyone

Hopefully that title didn't make all the pros here just lose their lunch all over their keyboards. As you've probably gleaned from the topic of my post, I am a newbie to analog synthesis. I just recently bought a voyager with the 251 and 351 units and 3 expression pedals. Needless to say, it's brilliant fun.

My question of the day: Can I use the Voyager to act like a ring modulator? I don't really know scientifically what a ring modulator does, other than that it makes external audio sound really cool. If the voyager can't "ring modulate", why?

I understand I can route external audio into my voyager, but it seems, superficially, like the audio only gets routed through the "filters" section of the moog, which is cool, but not quite what I wanted. I mean it seems like it's only highpass / lowpass filtering here. I was looking for a more "Clockwork Orange" Beethoven's 9th Chorus part, if you know what I mean. Like an almost robotic computer-type voice, almost like a vocoder (I was pretty sure that Clockwork Orange wasn't a vocoder, but rather a ring modulator).

Can anyone out there give me some advice on what I've asked (whether it's getting a robot voice out of my moog, or if it can act like a ring modulator, and if not, why)?

A preemptive thanks to anyone who can help,

Jeff

Qwave

Re: Using the Voyager as a Ring Modulator

Post by Qwave » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:21 pm

jeffdoto wrote:...Can I use the Voyager to act like a ring modulator?...
No
jeffdoto wrote:...If the voyager can't "ring modulate", why?...
Because it is missing a ring modulator :lol: