Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Tips and techniques for the Voyager

Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby elmdragon » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:44 pm

Hi all. I recently picked up a second hand Voyager OS as a step up from the Little Phatty I've used for a year or so, and it's in mint condition physically. Using it the past few days, however, I've noticed something odd that makes me wonder if there is something not quite right about my new baby.

I'm hoping that one of you other owners out there can tell me if this is normal... or if I'm going to need to call the Moog Synth Docs for treatment.

What I've discovered is that turning off "3 KB Cont" in the Oscillators section, Osc 2 goes sharp by about 3 semitones. It returns to normal if I turn 3 KB Cont on again. If 1-2 Sync is on at the same time as 3 KB Cont is off, Osc 2 jumps a full octave higher in pitch. (As in if I dial up a dual-sawtooth patch identically on both the OS and the Phatty and then turn Sync on both, I have to turn Osc 2 down an octave to sound the same as the Phatty).

Of course, I'm not trying to get my OS to sound exactly like the LP - but I want my Voyager to behave the way it is supposed to, and this just doesn't seem right.

By the way, if I try using Sync while 3 KB Cont is on, the sound doesn't have that wail/sheen that I associated with synced oscillators. I mean I can hear a difference in that there is no wave cancellation from two separate oscillators audible, but unless I turn 3 KB Cont off, it doesn't sound anything like the Sync sounds I get from the LP.

So what do you think? Do I have a problem with my Voyager, or is this the way it should be functioning and I should get on with enjoying the sweet sounds I can get from it?

Thanks in advance for your time!
elmdragon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby EMwhite » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:52 pm

No, that's not normal; but make sure you don't have any strange modulation setup where by you have a buss leveraging OSC3 as source, pitch as dest (I'm not in front of my kbd so cannot visualize the options).

But seen weirdness like you describe, just not on my VOS. I have an OSC module that wavers pitch when I change PWM setting. And when I adjust gate time on a q119 sequencer, the rate slows down but I think the latter is a firmware issue, not something relating to ref voltage.
'76 Minimoog, Moog Voyager Select, Taurus 3, Opus 3; Oberheim Son of 2-voice+2; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; 48 of MU Modular; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; Fender '75 Jazz, G'shop Precision, Tony Franklin Fretless, Hoppus, Roadworn 60's Jazz; MF101,104M,105M
EMwhite
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby thealien666 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:32 pm

elmdragon, make sure that both "amount" knobs in the "mod buss 1" and "mod buss 2" are fully counterclockwise (no modulation). If osc 2 still goes up in pitch when switching off "3 KB Cont.", then something is wrong with your Old School.

BTW, the Sync works only on Osc 1 and Osc2. When flipping the "1-2 sync" switch, Osc2 becomes a slave, and Osc 1 is the master. Osc 2 should then be set equal, or higher, in pitch than Osc 1 in order to get the typical sync sound (by varying Osc 2 frequency).

Osc 3 has nothing to do with the sync function. If the sync of Osc 2 to Osc 1 doesn't work like it should when "3 KB Cont" is set to "on", then there is definitely something very wrong with your Old School.
Donuts, is there anything they can't do ? (Homer J. Simpson)
http://www.youtube.com/alainhubert
http://www.soundcloud.com/thealien666
User avatar
thealien666
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby elmdragon » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:20 am

Yeah, I thought as much. Thanks for the confirmations; I've definitely verified that with modulation amounts set to zero on both busses the pitch of Osc 2 varies with the setting of 3 KB Cont. Also, it seems that regardless of how I set Osc 1 and 2, Sync just isn't sounding right unless I turn off 3 KB Cont.

I guess I'm gonna need to put in that call to Moog - and I just got her as well... :cry: I just hope it's nothing too expensive to patch up.

Thanks to both of you for your input!
elmdragon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby Kenneth » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:56 am

What is your location? I would strongly suggest finding a local tech to do the work. Shipping to Asheville is an option Voyager owners should not take lightly. Who knows what happens to our synthesizers when they're being manhandled by postal employees...
Voyager, Microbrute, AX-80, JP-8000, Monotribe, MPC-1000
User avatar
Kenneth
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby elmdragon » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:50 am

I'm in Monroe, GA. Asheville is about three and a half hours drive from here; I could possibly do that, but an authorized tech nearby would be a better idea, I agree. Shipping expensive synths about doesn't exactly make me smile either. I'll have to check on authorized techs in the Atlanta area and see what my options are.
elmdragon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby EMwhite » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:25 pm

I've taken my Little Phatty Tribute (for CV out mod and RAM upgrade) and my Voyager Old School (for other modes and calibration) separately to Asheville, once on a drive over from Raleigh during a business trip and the other time on the way driving to Florida with family. But in both cases, I had Moog ship it back to me.

No issues but I'm not saying that you won't have issues because you never know.

If it's your baby, take the drive, especially if you've never been to Asheville, leave at 6am; get there around the time they open, check out the demo room, schedule a factory tour through Jason, have some lunch in Asheville and head back by evening. Well worth the day investment to check the place out. If you coordinate it ahead of time, maybe they can slot you in to do the work while you hang around the area? I can't see it taking more than a few hours to resolve but I'm guessing.
'76 Minimoog, Moog Voyager Select, Taurus 3, Opus 3; Oberheim Son of 2-voice+2; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; 48 of MU Modular; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; Fender '75 Jazz, G'shop Precision, Tony Franklin Fretless, Hoppus, Roadworn 60's Jazz; MF101,104M,105M
EMwhite
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby elmdragon » Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:52 pm

An excellent suggestion EMWhite! I think I'll try to do something like that with the tour and such - could be quite a nice day. That would indeed be awesome if they could coordinate with me to get things done whilst I'm there hanging out.
elmdragon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby nightfur » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:15 pm

Old School's are known to have Oscillator issues occasionally - they may need to replace some components - this hapened to me recently. I had subsonic oscillators and one didn't work at all! Moog was quick to resolve the issue.
User avatar
nightfur
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby elmdragon » Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:59 am

Nightfur, thanks for the info. If I may ask, was your oscillator work outside of warranty? If so, could you share an approximate cost (I do understand that costs would vary, perhaps greatly, based on the nature of the specific problem). I'm trying to get a feel for how much cash I'll need to have available, as in a couple hundred, several hundred, a thousand or more, when I initiate the process.
elmdragon
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Does my Voyager OS need a synth doctor?

Postby nightfur » Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:30 pm

Luckily my repair was still under the 1 year warranty. I'd guess you'd be looking at several hundred dollars, but there is no way I can know for sure. I would consult with a Moog tech.
User avatar
nightfur
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Voyager Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest